SoCS — My Obsession

 

Books…

Well, Marie Kondo, you have a lot of great ideas in your book about “The Life-changing magic of Tidying Up” and I have used a lot of them. But you can’t have my books. Well, at least, you can’t have most of them. In the spirit of “Tidying Up” I did cart several boxes of books to the library book store, and I *gasp* put a ton of magazines in the recycle bin. But somehow, my shelves are still full, and “special” books still follow me home, like poor lost puppies that I *need* to take care of. I have a bookshelf in practically every room of my
house, and they are all pretty full. There are  little stacks of books here and there on various tables, which I am going to say are “decorative” so that I may justify keeping them there. In my defense, I only keep very special books in paper form. I read “regular” books (i.e. bestselling novels and things like that, at least the ones that don’t “require” a paper copy…certain ones of those still do, like J.J.Abrams’ “S”) on my Kindle.

 

Last month my husband and I spent a weekend in Boulder, CO, and it was snraining the whole weekend. (If you’re from Colorado, you’ll understand the term “snraining”…it means half-snowing and half-raining, and sometimes both at the same time.)  Anyway, because of that, it wasn’t the best weekend for hiking, so we walked around the 16th street mall. It just happened to be “Independent Book Store Day”  Quelle chance! 

 

IMG_4595

So we spent practically the whole day looking at books at two different bookstores in Boulder. The one on Pearl Street (Pictured above) had a party and everything! There was a scavenger hunt, wine and cheese, the head book-buyer gave a very interesting talk about his very interesting job…c’était magnifique!  A stack of books may or may not have joined us in our car for the drive home… but in all fairness, we were supporting two local businesses in Boulder, and you have to support those guys, you know? It’s important so that we don’t lose them.

 

 

I also like to support authors that I find on WP and FB and those places. Today I discovered that the guy we rented an apartment from in Paris two years ago is no longer in the business of vacation rentals, but has been writing a book, which he will release in September, and he has put an excerpt on his FB page to sucker in readers. He says he’ll put a second excerpt up if he gets 250 likes.  Now, this livre, c’est en français. Désolée pour les gens qui ne lisent pas le français 😦   Mais, cette histoire me fascine ! Voici le lien : Joël Wathier – Auteur Je vous conseille vivement de visiter son site. Si vous aimez son site, il va mettre un deuxième extrait ! 🙂 J’ai hâte de lire ce livre. 

 

Thanks for the prompt, Linda 🙂 Books are awesome.

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “book.” Use any meaning of the word as your theme, or simply mention the word “book” in your post. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “SoCS — My Obsession

  1. Never heard snraining, at first I thought you were slurring your speech. I think we should support independent book stores, aussi, and there a fewer of them left. I could read part of the French but not all. Did you say, pity poor people who do not read French? C’est vrais…and I many not be spelling it correctment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would feel wonderfully comfortable in your home, with books and bookshelves in every room. I too, have a book comfort addiction. I looked at Marie Kondo and I think she is too “Metal” element for me… In the Chinese 5 elements, her element will always want “NO clutter” which can be actually too much for other elements like myself. LOL. Meaning it can be uncomfortable to have too much space and too few things in one’s space. One has to find one’s own balance. Thanks for turning me on to SOCS, I posted recently on this Saturday’s theme, for 6/11. Courtney – Maui Jungalow blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very interesting! I don’t know about the 5 elements, but I know that I like the *idea* of being uncluttered, but I can’t actually *be* totally uncluttered. I’m better than I used to be at it, the older I get the less stuff I want, but books are non-negotiable 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and I’m looking forward to reading your SoCS !

      Like

  3. Finding your blog for the first time on the Summer road trip. As hard as I tried, I didn’t get to everyone. I wonder if anyone ever does. I like the road trip as an incentive to keep finding new bloggers. I am just finishing up a series of June Posts on summertime while growing up and how to recapture some of those moment this summer. Hope you have time to spend a few minutes and read some of them to gauge what the blog can be about. See you on the road.

    Liked by 1 person

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.