Just Jot it January 5 – Yay Glitter!

le 5 janvier, 2017 (sorry it’s a smidge late!)

Just Jot It January” – The spectacular-anyone-can-join-fantabulous-month-of-blogging  created by the Super Hero Linda G Hill! If you click on the link above or the picture at the bottom of the post, you’ll find the proper link to learn all the rules !

 

Now for your prompt for January 5. It is brought to you by Judy of http://www.edwinasepisodes.com/. Your prompt is: “Spangly.” Use it any way you like. Make sure you stop by Judy’s website and say hello to her!

Ode to a an unworthy VRBOwner 

We only wanted a salon,

A home-like place for our Noël

Something soft to sit upon,

Not a noisy lobby of some hotel,

But someplace reminiscent of Norman Rockwell.

 

Your pictures looked so very pleasant,

A cozy and inviting room

To relax, to chat, to open presents…

Arriving cheerfully, we could assume

That we’d not need to pick up a broom.

 

Alas, we began this nice weekend

to find a place not cleaned since summer,

pot smokers in the hallway… not a place to spend

with family. It was really a bummer

to have to call and argue while missing our supper.

 

In the end you offered us

“Unit 2” which was happily slightly cleaner,

You really wanted to make a fuss

About the money; it fell to me to be meaner

Than I like to be. Next time I’ll be a better screener!

 

I love vacation rental homes,

but yours is off my list

of places that are in my zones

of comfort or of bliss.

It made me want to leave a review to say how far you missed!

 

In the end, the family around us

was more important than the “where”

which, by the way, we left cleaner than we found it!

Except one thing: the small affaire

of the glitter that got stuck on the chair!

(sorry about that one, but maybe our “cleaning” fee could actually manage to cover a little vacuuming, don’t you think?!)

 

*Just a note: This really happened last month when we spent a weekend with my husband’s mom in a town halfway between here and there. And I thought about leaving this woman a horrible review on the HomeAway website, but finally, I don’t think it’s worth my time. I gave her 2 stars to bring down her ratings, though, and I did notice that all the “nice” reviews she has came from people who have only ever done one review before. Guess they’re all her buddies.  Anyway, I look for that now. I got a bad taste in my mouth about this, but seriously, I have rented many many nice Vacation rentals from Trip Advisor, HomeAway (VRBO) and really, they’ve all been great except this one. I was suspicious as soon as we got there, since most legitimate vacation rentals they have someone (either the owner or a manager) meet you, show you where everything is, and how everything works, etc…and usually the places are spic-and-span and they leave you a bottle of wine or a jar of homemade jam, or even just a nice note. This place would be better off as an “Air b-n-b” or she should just rent it to college kids (which is what it seems like–a college dorm type place) because she clearly has no interest in being a proper vacation rental host.

 

One thought on “Just Jot it January 5 – Yay Glitter!

  1. I stayed in a hotel once, and when I got to my room there was a lawn-sized garbage bag with empty beer cans in it. Guess they hosted a bachelor party the night before. I mean, you expect that of a cheap motel (which this was), but not of a place someone is leasing for money…

    Like

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.