La vie est belle !

SoCS — Battling the Elements!

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Come join in! It’s super fun!

 

Battling the elements — This week has been brutally cold. With a little snow, too. I had to go to work, which for me includes walking a half mile from the parking lot to my “office.”  So “battling the elements” came to my mind when I saw the prompt.

Thursday morning, Denver hit a record low of -14F (that is -25C for my metric friends!) That is the coldest November temperature since 1880 !  On Wednesday, the high temperature was 6F (-14C) which was the coldest daytime high temperature ever recorded on Nov 12. Cars don’t like these temperatures. Airplanes don’t like them, and I can tell you with 100% certainty that pilots don’t like them! It was cold in Colorado. It was cold in Chicago, it was cold in South Dakota. It wasn’t too bad in Palm Springs, oddly enough 🙂 But all that aside, the absolute worst part for me was the walk from my car to the airport on Wednesday. Tonight it was downright balmy, only 28F (-2C). I almost forgot my scarf. Just kidding. Brrrr!

I have now focused my attention on trying to avoid all trips which go through Chicago and/or Denver during the month of December, in hopes of avoiding some of these “elemental” battles. Why these two only? Well, dear readers, when it comes to element-battling in the winter, Preparation and Planning are the key.  Am I telling you that I consider these two airports to be poorly prepared and or planned? Would I advise avoiding them in the winter? Of course I would never say that “out loud.” But allow me to say instead that Denver seems to be under the impression that it lives in Florida during the winter and is therefore “surprised” when it snows. Chicago isn’t surprised, it just doesn’t care about silly things like being efficient. But then again, that “devil-may-care” attitude is just part of the Chicago charm…right? Riiiiight. On another note, I would like to congratulate our Canadian neighbors on their winter-preparedness-and-planning. I have never seen an aircraft de-icing operation which runs as smoothly as the one at the Toronto airport. It glides like it’s on skates, and for all I know, maybe they are. All I can say is, nobody deals with ice as well as Canada. And they are super polite, too. Thanks, Canada. Love you guys!

As much as I love to avoid Winter while I am at work, I will admit that I adore winter as seen from my window, sitting next to my fire, and sipping…well, any hot beverage can be inserted here, but top billing this year goes to…Nespresso!! (Bet you didn’t see that one coming 😉 ) After that, in order of deliciousness, goes Celestial Seasonings “Sweet Harvest Pumpkin” tea, Hot spiced apple cider from Whole Foods, and a nice dark hot chocolate.  Actually, I adore the hot chocolate but abhor drinking calories. While having my hot beverage of choice, I like to be reading or writing.  So the elements of a pleasant winter day off? Snow, hot beverage, fireplace, big sweater, cozy socks, lovely music, notebooks, pens, and books.

The other place I love Winter is in the kitchen. I love cooking, but especially those winter spices that make the whole house smell like Christmas. Gingerbread, Apple pies, Pumpkin pies, Cranberry sauce, Bizcochitos (the State cookie of New Mexico, for those of you who don’t know…delicious), Pork Green Chile, Red chili, Butternut squash soup, Beef stew…

So…how do you battle the elements? What is your favorite season? Is your city prepared for winter? 

 

 

 

 

33 Responses to “SoCS — Battling the Elements!”

  1. PsiFiGal

    I love spring and summer, winter is my least favorite season. I live in Oregon so it’s probably because it’s usually dark and rainy here most days… And when it snows people are crazy here, no one knows how to drive in the snow, schools close for just a little bit of snow, we are not prepared for it at all. I like this post, it made me hungry 🙂 Looking forward to the holiday dinners with all of the family. I was wondering, what is Nespresso?

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks for commenting! I love Oregon, it’s so green. Probably because of all the rain! Nespresso is a machine created by the Swiss company Nestlé which makes delightful espressos at home with their cute little capsules. It’s awesome.

      Like

      Reply
      • PsiFiGal

        Yes, lots of rain here 🙂 Oh, I’ve seen those, they can make regular coffee too, right? There are different brands I think. I wouldn’t mind having one, maybe someday…

        Like

        Reply
  2. agnes

    Merci de penser à tes “métric friends” qui t’imaginent ( du moins, moi) dans ton avion, la bise soufflant sur la piste, les flocons de neige virevoltants…et les passagers grommelants!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Deborah Drucker

    Je ne se quois. That is close to limit of my French. We don’t have real seasons here in Southern California. Cold weather is not my favorite. We usually don’t have much of a Fall. It is cooler. So I would say Spring is my favorite here because the temperatures are moderate and the leaves are coming back on the trees and it is sunny. That is before we get the June gloom. But we do need rain.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Ahhh…SoCal. It’s always nice there. I must say I was surprised one year when I happened to be near LAX for Christmas Eve. It was 82F !

      Like

      Reply
  4. LindaGHill

    Oooh, good to know! I’m traveling out of and into Toronto’s Pearson International in three weeks. We haven’t seen any snow up here yet…
    I would think O’Hare (isn’t it the biggest hub in North America?) would be better strategically equipped.
    Love hot chocolate, hate snow. 😛

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Toronto airport rocks. Yeah, you’d think O’Hare would be better, (it’s actually second biggest next to Atlanta) but it’s not. The O’Hare Air Traffic Controllers are the best in the country, but while you’re on the ground, that’s a different story!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Sandi

    I hadn’t thought of “battling the elements.” Life grinds to a half with a few flakes here in NC — I’ve never flown in winter, so I can’t say how well our airport handles snow. Fun use of the prompt!

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I’ve only ever been to the Asheville airport, but I haven’t seen snow there, just rain. Lots and lots of rain. So I’m not sure how they do snow, either! Best to stay in, I think 😉 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. John Holton

    I moved out of Chicago 27 years ago, and don’t miss it, especially the snow and the cavalier attitude they take toward it. They are famous for plowing the main streets and dumping the snow on the side streets, where everyone actually lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Really??? That’s horrible! I’ve never really visited Chicago “proper”, just O’Hare, and I figured that wasn’t it’s best side…

      Like

      Reply
  7. JoAnne Silvia

    I enjoyed the imagery here. Polite Canadians and gingerbread. Maybe I’ll go to Canada in the summertime though. My husband lived most of his life in New England plowing and shoveling snow. He says he had to get creative to figure out where to put the snow. Now that he’s moved south to be with me, he hates the cold, so we visit his mother in the summer.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Celine Jeanjean

    Haha, I loved your comments on Denver and Chicago airports. London as a city is the same. It seems to think it lives in a warm place where it never ever snows and where it never rains too much. And then when it does snow the whole city comes to a stand still (I kid you not. It’s not that frequent but it happens often enough), or when it rains too much the tube / subway also comes to a standstill.

    That’s mental that it’s so cold where you are, made me feel cold just thinking about it! It doesn’t really get cold out in HK, but then there’s no heating, so even if it’s only 14C, it feels much colder because you have to keep your coat on indoors! Lucky it only lasts for a couple of months.
    Good luck with this winter, you’re off to a cold start!

    Like

    Reply
  9. frederick anderson

    I love the silence snow brings. Here in the north of England we don’t manage the extremes too badly, I suppose, but I’d rather be watching snow ploughs than following them. Just lately the ‘authorities’ here have begun closing whole sections of road down at the slightest provocation and simply leaving motorists to freeze. We are remarkably inconsiderate of old people’s needs at this season of the year and I wish sometimes for a regeneration of ‘street spirit’, which does not seem to happen now.

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

