On Being Passive – SoCS

 

There is just nothing like Linda G Hill to get me to come back to my blog. I have become a FaceBook denizen of late, and while that has some merit, it isn’t really my favorite place. Why don’t I spend my time more wisely reading the content of my favorite bloggers instead? It’s way better than cat pictures.

Anyway, I have been very passive since about 6 weeks ago I found out that bifocals, reading and stairs do not go well together. I now understand why some people (whom I used to refer to as “old ladies”, sorry about that, won’t do it ever again!) wear their glasses on a cord around their necks. It is so they can take them off while walking without losing them. Obviously. I’m getting one of those.

In the meantime, I have acquired 3 metal plates and roughly 24 screws in my right leg from the tibia-fibula fracture I got from missing a measly two stairs in my house. I have passively endured an ambulance ride, 4 days in the hospital, 2 surgeries, and many days spent in the bed that my loving husband moved into my living room.  I have learned to passively let others be active for me.

I am so grateful for my church family and for my friends at work who have brought meals to us and who have come over to chat. I am so blessed to have such good friends and to know such caring people. I don’t know how I would navigate this without my sweet husband who does EVERYTHING. He even takes care of my sourdough starter and has learned to make coffee-cakes 🙂

The whole experience has been a huge “life-lesson.” I’m not really good at letting others do things for me. Traditionally I am a “self-sufficient” girl, and I like to be low-impact on others. I am learning to accept help gracefully. Hopefully I am doing so, anyway. It’s very humbling to be “temporarily disabled” and I am surprised at every turn how difficult it is. I have grown a lot of empathy for people who are mobility limited. Simple things like trying to go to a symphony concert where nobody knew where the “handicapped” lift was, and otherwise you had to do stairs (I can’t at the moment) to trying to navigate JC Penneys in a wheelchair (they put the racks too close together to get a chair through) are huge challenges.

My house has two stairs from the front door to the living room, and two stairs from the living room to the kitchen. By means of a walker and a couple of aerobic steps, we devised a way for me to get to the powder room. I can’t actually answer the front door. Taking a shower became possible after buying a shower bench and a special bag to keep the cast dry. I shimmy upstairs on my butt and use the walker from there. I can’t do it without help. Perhaps I am more grateful for things now, perhaps I am more empathetic to others, I don’t know, but I hope so. I just can’t keep from wondering, could there have been a less painful way to learn these things?

I have learned words in French that I never wanted to learn, like “plâtre”,   “Se casser” and “plaques” and “vises”…in order to explain to my French friends what happened. Some vocabulary lessons are decidedly un-good!

I have at least 3 more weeks before I can put any weight on the leg, so I have more passive days left before Physical Therapy on the injured leg will make me a more active participant in my own healing again. Grrrf.

I really need to spend my passive time writing my blog, n’est-ce pas ? I didn’t do April A to Z this year because I didn’t have anything to write about, and I wasn’t a big fan of the new format last year, but it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t start writing something. I will try to find something interesting, mes chers lecteurs!! 

Et vous ? Have you ever been “temporarily disabled”? What important lessons did you learn from it?

 

Click on the picture to find out more about Linda G Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday!

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

18 thoughts on “On Being Passive – SoCS

  1. Je suis tellement désolée, Kelli ! C’est dommage ! Quelque chose que je puisse faire pour toi ? Je viens de rentrer de la Chine après un voyage spectaculaire ! Je peux le partager …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad to see you back and to know I helped. But my dear, what the heck?!? I’m so sorry to hear you’ve injured yourself! Please heal soon!
    Yes, I went through a year of pain when my shoulder was frozen. I learned to do a LOT of things with my left hand, and I have actually benefited from those lessons. I hope you come away from all this with something positive too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Linda. I will try to do so! I broke my wrist about 13 years ago and did the one handed stuff…I’m not sure which is worse! I’m glad your shoulder is better now. That would be hard for a writer! Thanks again for the prompts, and for the great WP community you have created. No matter how sporadic I am at writing, I always feel welcome in the Linda G Hill community! No cliques, no drama, just nice folks ☺️

      Like

  3. Quelle mésaventure ! Mon mari aussi a été immobilisé (puis peu mobile ensuite pendant quelques mois) et a été incroyablement patient. Je ne l’aurais pas parié ! Il a beaucoup lu, puis bien travaillé pour sa rééducation. J’espère que tu vas vite retrouver ta liberté de mouvement. Je suis contente de te lire à nouveau. A bientôt
    Anne

    Like

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry to read this! That’s a bummer. I don’t wear glasses, but I do know of a few similar accidents. If you had known that would have been the good time to do the challenge since you’re stuck home. I’m really sorry for you. I hope you’re not in too much pain.
    Years ago, I torn my ACl, MCL and meniscus and was home for a while. It sucked.
    Bon courage pour tout et merci de me lire pendant ce mois d’avril.

    Liked by 1 person

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.