La vie est belle !

D – Rue Daguerre #atozchallenge

A to Cray-Z 2017  –

All about the week that I nearly drove my husband crazy. In Paris.

Last October, my husband and I spent a month in France. Nine of those days we spent in Paris. We sought out a street in Paris for every  letter of the alphabet, and we set foot in every arrondissement de Paris. This is not for the faint of heart. Or anyone who fears lots of walking. Or stairs. Or trop de baguettes. Or le Métro.

Ça veut dire — Do not try this at home, folks.

Alors, mes chers lecteurs…have you been to Paris? Have you walked on this street? Does this street make you dream or think of a story? Tell me in the comments!

French verb for this street: déballer (to unpack)

Une petite fille a tiré sur la manche de sa maman et lui a demandé quand elles vont rentrer parce qu’elle avait hâte de déballer tout ce qu’elle avait acheté au marché.


D is for Rue Daguerre

Rue : Rue Daguerre

Arrondissement : 14th


C’est où ? (where is this?)


What was it like for us?

This street has just about anything a foodie could want. The whole street is essentially a market, home to sellers of fish, cheese, produce, bread…everything! There are also shops that sell trinkets and toys and books and all sorts of other things. Luckily and unluckily we didn’t have a lot of time to spend here because I would have spent more than a few euros given the chance!


What’s in a name?

Rue Daguerre was named for Monsieur Louis Daguerre, the French inventor, photographer, painter, and theatre designer. He is best known as one of the “fathers” of modern photography, having invented the daguerrotype process of photography in the 1830’s. He is also well-known for his diorama theater sets.

 


Bonus : 

Place Denfert-Rochereau – 14e Arr.

The place with the big lion. More HERE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rue des Dames – 17e Arr.

The day we went to Montmartre, we decided to walk there from our place in the 17th. Walking down Rue des Dames, we stumbled across this interesting mural. This mural wasn’t there when Google made their map, which just goes to show that it definitely pays to walk as much as possible in Paris because on ne sais jamais ! (You just never know what you’ll find!)

Also, I don’t know what it means that she has buildings in her bouquet. Any Parisians out there know the artist or why this lady is painted here on Rue des dames ?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Square Claude Debussy – 17e Arr.

 

Back to our beautiful Quartier Batignolles in the 17th, there is a grouping of about three short little streets populated by some very nice looking apartment buildings quite close to the apartment we rented. This little grouping of streets is very quiet and charming and we determined that if one had the means, this would be the perfect place to live in Paris. It has become a goal. In addition to that, this street is named for one of my favorite French composers. Bonus!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

This post is part of the #atozchallenge. Click on the icon to see who else is playing!

7 Responses to “D – Rue Daguerre #atozchallenge”

    • jetgirlcos

      Hmmm…I’ll have to check that out. My actual Twitter is @jetgirl20. So I think I have to fix something! Thanks for the heads up! I am so Twitter-illiterate!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. evelyneholingue

    I’ve missed your earlier posts because of my own challenge 🙂
    But I cannot skip this one. I worked so close to Rue Daguerre that I ate lunch there very often. Have you visited the great Cafe Perret? My husband and I bought the wine for our wedding there. On Rue Daguerre. My kind of Paris, really. I will follow your alphabetical adventures this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Oh that’s fantastic! When I go back to Paris I definitely want to spend a little time on the Rue Daguerre, so I’ll put this place on that list! I really love Paris (surprise, surprise) and during our time there in October, we really just started a new list of things to see and do there. Visiting every arrondissement is very difficult to do in 9 days and I honestly wouldn’t recommend it. We did, however, discover some corners of Paris that we wouldn’t otherwise have visited! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • evelyneholingue

        That’s quite a challenge to cover the twenty arrondissements. I have too but in more than nine days:)
        I’m sure you’ll love the cafe I’m suggesting, even though it is too popular and trendy now. Used to be a working class arrondissement and you could meet a mixed crowd there, which I loved. The cafe was small but the wine and finger food so great! It’s more elaborate and cosmopolite now. Still worth a visit on market day!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

