La vie est belle !

Just Jot it January 26 – Extraordinary!

le 26 janvier, 2017

Well, as usual, I’m fighting the clock to make my post on the 26th! No excuse, it’s just how it’s been happening!

I’m so pleased that Linda accepted my suggestion of “extraordinary” for today’s prompt. I love this word, and I like to look for extraordinary things!

So what is this word? First of all, “extra-” as a prefix, according to Merriam-Webster :

extra-

prefix  ex·tra 

Definition of extra-

  1. :  outside :  beyond <extrajudicial>

“Extra.” Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 27 Jan. 2017.

 

So, “outside” or “beyond” ordinary. But what is “ordinary” ?

adjective  or·di·nary 

Definition of ordinary

  1. 1:  of a kind to be expected in the normal order of events :routine,  usual<an ordinary day>

  2. 2:  having or constituting immediate or original jurisdiction; also:  belonging to such jurisdiction

  3. 3a :  of common quality, rank, or ability <an ordinary teenager>b :  deficient in quality :poor,  inferior<ordinary wine>

“Ordinary.” Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 27 Jan. 2017.

Ok, then! Anything that is “outside” or “beyond” the routine, usual, or common. For me, that means that I could potentially find something extraordinary every day! And some things that seem ordinary to me might be extraordinary to someone else. Even my job, which seems ordinary to me, is extraordinary to some people.  I didn’t really go anywhere today, but in my own house, my levain seems extraordinary to me because how cool is it that there is actual wild yeast living in a jar on my countertop?  Certainly that isn’t ordinary. (Yes, I know.

Also, the internet. That is extraordinary. I have managed to learn a second language and make real live friends with people in several other countries with whom I speak several times a month. Extraordinaire.

I am taking music lessons via Skype from a world-renowned performer and teacher who lives on the other side of the country. Extraordinaire.

So speaking of the French version of the word, it is actually a “true” cognate. Extraordinaire means the same thing in both languages. Except that in French, I find it to be extraordinarily beautiful, even for a French word. (really, many words just sound better in French. Truly.)  Listen here <click> for some native speakers saying this word. It’s really amazing. Maybe I’m just a bit odd, but I love hearing it spoken by a real Francophone. I just can’t do it justice when I do it with my American accent. Not even close. If you are a Francophone and you haven’t thought about it, consider how lucky you are to be able to pronounce this beautiful word without thinking about it. As though it were just another ordinary word. Lucky ducks.

Speaking of ducks, here is a French song about a magical, “extraordinary” park, where some ducks speak English, which would be extraordinary anywhere, but particularly in France. Listen to Charles Trenet sing “Le Jardin Extraordinaire”.   It’s fun, and you get to hear him sing “extraordinaire” a bunch of times! Extraordinary! Here’s the link to the lyrics, too, if anyone’s interested: <link> It’s in French, but if I were to try translating it, my post would go up next January!

Have an extraordinary day, mes chers lecteurs!


Just Jot It January” – The spectacular-anyone-can-join-fantabulous-month-of-blogging  created by the Super Hero Linda G Hill! If you click on the link above or the picture at the bottom of the post, you’ll find the proper link to learn all the rules !

 

A huge thanks to Linda for accepting my suggestion of “extraordinary” for today’s prompt! Merci mille fois, Linda ! 

 

 

2 Responses to “Just Jot it January 26 – Extraordinary!”

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

