La vie est belle !

Just Jot it January 13 – The hat in the hospital

le 13 janvier, 2017

I don’t think anyone really likes hospitals. The only times I’ve really been in them, is was to visit friends or family members who were sick or hurt. My dad spent too many days there over the last three years of his life. I didn’t like visiting him there. I mean, I know that people go there to get well, but honestly, that doesn’t always happen, and, like many areas of life, the bad stuff overshadows the good.  If you’re not sick, you don’t go there, and it’s hard to remember the good that happens there. I have very limited personal experience with hospitals, so maybe I have a skewed point-of-view.

Anyway, I think I’d rather write about l’accent circonflexe, the one that looks like a little hat like this: ˆ

It’s in the French word for hospital, “l’hôpital”.  Did you notice that it has the same spelling as the English word, except for the “s” ?  And that the accent circonflexe went over the “o” next to where the “s” is in the English version? In fact, there are many words like this in French, where the circonflexe marks the loss of a consonant in an older version of the word, which is no longer pronounced. I think the English words are “borrowed” versions of the older French words! So we have hospital/hôpital, forest/forêt, hostel/ hôtel, coast/côte, roast/rôtir… Intéressant, n’est-ce pas ? 

In fact, the French language does continue to change, however slowly the Académie Française allows it to. In early 2016 they did a “spelling overhaul” which in fact removed the poor accent circonflexe from some 2000 words, a definite “evolution” of the language, I would say. Heureusement, it will not be considered incorrect if you still write the cute little hats on top of their respective letters!

So it is still ok, if votre ancêtre construira un hôtel dans la côte d’une île, pas très loin de la forêt.  If the accent circonflexe is interesting to you, then I suggest this website, which explains everything you could ever want to know! <click>

 


Just Jot It January” – The spectacular-anyone-can-join-fantabulous-month-of-blogging  created by the Super Hero Linda G Hill! If you click on the link above or the picture at the bottom of the post, you’ll find the proper link to learn all the rules !

 

The Just Jot It January 13th prompt, brought to you by Charlene Bullard of FaithtoRaiseNate.com, is: “Hospital.” Use it any way you’re inspired to. And make sure you stop by and say hi to Charlene as well! Here’s her blog: http://faithtoraisenate.com/ .

 

 

7 Responses to “Just Jot it January 13 – The hat in the hospital”

  1. John Holton

    There was a mathematician named l’Hopital who came up with a rule for evaluating derivatives. I learned it in my math major days. Don’t ask me to explain it, I couldn’t then and I can’t now…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I can use math to figure out how much to tip and how much something is on sale. That’s pretty much it…I know a geometry joke though! Q: What do you call an occupied toilet on a 747? A: A hypotenuse. 😂

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

