La vie est belle !

SoCS — I feel pretty

I saw the word “pretty” and I thought immediately of the song from West Side Story.  I love that musical because it has so many great songs. Music geek trivia: most music students (at least when I went to school!) learned to use a couple of songs from West Side Story to aurally “identify” intervals between notes.  For example, you can learn the ascending tri-tone with the song “Maria” and  the ascending minor 7th from “Somewhere”. It worked because everyone knew these songs and could sing at least the first lines of them from memory.  For each interval, there was a familiar song, and many of them came from the “old” musicals like West Side Story, The Sound of Music and others. We also used hymns, Christmas songs, and camp songs. I wonder how much the songs have changed for this exercise? I’ll bet they use songs that I don’t even know these days (insert “I’m dating myself, aren’t I?” emoji here.)

Even though “I feel pretty” is not one of the songs for interval ear training, it’s still a great song. I love Natalie Wood in this movie. Yes, I know that she didn’t do her own singing for the movie; in fact, there have been many actors who haven’t done their own singing. It does kind of make one appreciate Julie Andrews even more! Ahh…Julie Andrews, another star whose movies I adore! And in fact, there are quite a few songs from “The Sound of Music” that we used for ear training as well. “My Favorite Things” = ascending perfect fifth; “Do, Re, Mi” = ascending major 2nd; “So Long, Farewell” = ascending minor 3rd…

I get the strangest ideas from these prompts sometimes! Et vous? Have you done any interval ear training before? Did you use songs to remember how they sounded? Which songs did you use?  It occurs to me that they must use different methods in different countries!

 

 

 

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in!

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “pretty.” Use it any way you please. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “SoCS — I feel pretty”

  1. Hazel

    I have heard of this as a method of interval training and since I sing in choirs it could be useful. Do you know a definitive list of well known songs for common intervals. If so, I would like to read it. Hazel

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. willowdot21

    I love the sound of music too! My youngest son did a degree in sound engineering, they were taught that Kylie Minogue’s Can’t get you out of my head , was a perfect pop song because of the simplicity of the tune and how it builds!
    Also a great example of layering is Imogen Heap’s song Just for now

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

