La vie est belle !

SoCS — Wouldn’t that be a novel idea?

So, getting slowly back into the blogging…I have tons of ideas of stuff to write about, but sometimes it feels as though any time I spend writing is “extra”…you know, as if it needs to be the last thing on my list when in reality I wish it could have a higher priority. There are always things that need doing around the house, errands to be run, things to organize (like all my vacation photos! Which I would love to start sharing here as well!)…  Truly, my life is not really that “busy” like a lot of people, but I am the world’s worst procrastinator!

I found this great Ted Talk about the procrastinator’s brain, (just click here if you’re interested) which pretty much sums up how my brain works 90% of the time. I do have, from time to time, “productive streaks” during which I manage to Get Stuff Done. I always feel spectacular afterwards, but sadly, they don’t come around all that often. I could really use one right about now, as I am madly studying to sit for the DELF exam at the beginning of December. That is the “Diplôme d’Études en Langue Française” and it is nothing more or less than a test to prove your level in the French language. I don’t have to do it, I’m just one of those odd people who do stuff like this for fun!

Anyway, today, I really should go to the gym and work out, and practice for my flute lesson next week, and, oh, there is an interesting conference about world religions that we want to go to this morning, and then there is a symphony concert tonight. So…what that really means is that I should end this SoC and start getting these things done, because once again, writing falls pretty low on that list. I am having a moment of luxury right at this moment because nobody is around right now to make me feel as though writing is a waste of my time. The strange thing is, when I actually have time to write, I still seem to get sidetracked with things like figuring out different ways to organize travel photos instead of just choosing a way and doing that.  That’s when I have “procrastinator’s regret” the most. When all of a sudden I have to do something else and I realized, “I should have been writing.”

et…ça y est.  There ya go. (big sigh) that is the life of a procrastinator. Always wishing to Get Stuff Done and yet managing to Not Get Stuff Done. Today I’m going to try to overcome that a bit, and actually do the list that I wrote in the last paragraph. If I manage to do that, I think I’ll try to do a bit of writing.

 

Wouldn’t that be a Novel idea?

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in!

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “novel.” Use it any way you’d like. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “SoCS — Wouldn’t that be a novel idea?”

  1. ellenbest24

    I think you take on a tad too much. You should shorten your list or prioritise it and what’s not done today can go on the top of tomorrow’s. This is a good response to the prompt well done. 😇

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

