La vie est belle !

SoCS — How many classes?

Bonjour, mes chers lecteurs. Sorry I’m late with my SoCS.  It’s not like I didn’t have time yesterday. In fact, I had the whole day to myself. So why didn’t I write?? I don’t know. Anyhow, I didn’t want to completely go the whole week without saying hello to WP people 🙂  I will say that I am studying a lot of things recently, because even though I am, shall we say, a bit past the traditional school age, I have a lot of classes! Which is not to say that I have a lot of class. Although I like to surround myself with classy people. Like all of mes chers lecteurs.  🙂

 

I attend 4 different French classes with the very classy Pascale Arnol  .  My husband will roll his eyes here and tell you that I am obsessed. Ce n’est pas une mauvaise chose, à mon avis !  I am actively studying to sit for the DELF exam, hopefully in December. It is not an easy exam, and as to why I feel the need to do this, well, primarily because “it is there.” I have some vague ideas of using my French skills for other things in the future, but at this point it’s not very concrete. In any case, the DELF seems like a good starting point, and it certainly won’t hurt me!

 

I also have my flute class, which requires daily practice. This is actually quite therapeutic as it is music and one can very easily get lost in music. Plus, I am encouraged by my flute teacher; he too is very classy and j’ai l’impression que je fais des progrès. Not like I’ll be performing on any grand stages, but I will have the assurance of doing my best at whatever I do.

 

And then there is the WP class. Well, that’s not really a class, but it is a continuing exercise in reading and writing. I am sorry that this is the one that I have been sort of neglecting. I keep having this feeling that, if only I could finish  x or y, or if my house was cleaner, or if those errands were just completed, or…then I would be able to relax and write some things. I like to write. I am a very wordy person, really.

 

Lastly, today is Father’s Day and I can’t let this go by without telling you something about my dad. He was also a very classy person. This day is a hard day because it is the first time that I can’t call him up and hear him call me “punkin.”  It is the first time that I can’t explain to him that I have sent his Father’s Day card late. (we have a family tradition of procrastination!)

Some classy things about my dad:

  1. He always took care of his family first.
  2. He loved his wife profoundly and was married for more than 60 years.
  3. He raised two very independent and self-sufficient kids
  4. He taught us to be honest and respectful like he was
  5. He smiled for every picture
  6. He had a lot of passion for his hobbies (guess I inherited that one!)
  7. He walked fast everywhere he went.
  8. He went above and beyond to take care of his patients (he was an optometrist)
  9. If he said he would do something, he would do it.
  10. He lived in such a way that he was able to say that he’d had a very good life.

I know that I will continue to learn from his examples for the rest of my life.  I miss him…

 

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “Press.” Find a word that starts with press-, ends with -press, or use “press” as a word all by itself. Have fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “SoCS — How many classes?”

  1. Michael

    Always tough that first Father’s Day and your dad is not here. But as you list Kelli there are so many wonderful things you have to treasure about your dad. I can see you will honouring him in the best way.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

