La vie est belle !

A to Z 2016 — Zone de Confort

Bonjour mes chers lecteurs ! Bienvenue sur le site “Forty, C’est Fantastique.” Qu’est-ce que c’est ? De quoi s’agit-il ? Alors, c’est mon voyage vers la langue française. Un voyage sans fin. Je l’ai commencé il y a trois ans et demi. De temps en temps, il y a des gens qui me demandent : “Comment as-tu appris la langue française ?” Je leur réponds : “Je n’ai pas appris la langue française.Je suis toujours en train de l’apprendre.”

Parlez Français !

Parlez Français !

 


La Partie en anglais

Well, we made it!  It’s the last day of the April A to Z challenge ! Yay! So my “Z” is really just a “recap.”  In my opinion, the most important thing of all when learning a new language is to get out of your “comfort Zone.” I did this a lot during this A to Z, trying to be sort of an example, you know?

For one thing, I did those two interviews. In French. Sooooo far outside my comfort Zone!  First of all,  I really dislike photos of myself, so a video is just…really bizarre for me. So why did I do that?? To get out of the Zone. To stretch myself, and to do something I was afraid to do.  Normally, I would hesitate to even put a photo on my site, just because…well, I am actually quite shy! And then there is that desire for “privacy” even though it’s sort of crazy to want to publish a blog  that pretty much the whole world can see and be “private” at the same time. I mean, I’m not going to publish my personal phone number or anything like that, but I do want to connect with my readers (I love you guys!) so at least you now have a picture in your head of who “Jetgirl” is. Even if I was nervous and out of my element in the videos, as my friend Agnès told me, “dans mes petits souliers.”  I’m not going to become a vlogger anytime soon, but, like skydiving, I can now say “Yeah. I did that once.”  And who knows, maybe I’ll do another one sometime 🙂 And maybe I’ll be more “at ease.”

 

I wrote a lot  of French. A lot. I spent a lot of time on this challenge because the “writing in French” process is not all that easy. For one thing, I have to look up a lot of words. And then there are all the grammar rules. And all the stuff that doesn’t really translate. And all those “tournures plus françaises” (merci, G.)  that I haven’t learned yet. So I write, and I try to correct my own mistakes as much as possible, then I beg my teacher or one of my friends to look it over for me. And I revise. I have to say that doing this 26 times this month makes me feel like I’ve improved at it some!  I have come to recognize some of my writing weaknesses, and I am certain that this will help me when I sit for the DELF.

 

So what other paths have I found “out of the comfort Zone?”

 

Try something new as often as possible.

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Laugh at yourself!

Listen, even if you understand nothing.

Be courageous! Speak!

Never forget that a language is first and foremost a means of communication.

Have fun!!


The Part in French

C’est le dernier jour du “A à Z” ! Nous y sommes arrivés ! Yayyy ! Alors, mon “Z” est, en effet, un “résumé.” À mon avis, la chose la plus importante pour apprendre une langue étrangère est de sortir de votre “Zone de confort.” Moi, je l’ai fait avec ce défi. J’ai essayé pour vous d’en être un exemple pendant ce mois d’avril . Je trouve que j’ai amélioré mon français en faisant le “A à Z” ! C’était comme une sorte de journal. J’ai beaucoup écrit en français ce mois-ci, et j’ai appris certaines choses, je me suis reconnu quelques faiblesses dans mon écriture (avec l’aide de mes correspondants et de ma prof !) A l’avenir cela va m’aider et particulièrement quand je passerai l’examen du DELF.

Alors, quelles voies ai-je découvertes pour sortir de cette Zone ?

Essayez quelque chose de nouveau autant que faire se peut.
N’ayez pas peur de faire des bêtises. Riez !
Écoutez, même si vous ne comprenez rien .
Soyez courageux ! Parlez !
N’oubliez jamais que la langue est d’abord une communication.
Amusez-vous bien !


Et pour finir l’alphabet, un grand merci à:

Ma prof de français, Pascale Arnol

Mon prof de flûte, Nicolas Duchamp  (Side note for all you flutists out there:  check out that link at the top of the sidebar on my main page if you would like an opportunity to attend an intensive study week with M. Duchamp in June)

Tous mes correspondents, qui m’aide énormément avec mon français !

Mes chers lecteurs de Forty, C’est Fantastique

Arlee Bird, qui a créé le défi “A à Z”

 

 


Le mot du jour from Larousse.fr : (you can click on the word to go to their site, which includes a pronunciation of the word)

Zigouiller

Populaire. Égorger, tuer, assassiner.

 

zigouiller. Larousse.fr Retrieved March 15, 2016, from http://www.larousse.fr/dictionnaires/francais/zigouiller/83124?q=zigouiller#82126

In English: (slang) to take someone out, to kill someone.

Ex: “Si tu voudrais être le premier dans la classe, tu dois zigouiller Vinnie.”

“If you want to be the first in the class, you’re going to have to take out Vinnie. “

Z

 

6 Responses to “A to Z 2016 — Zone de Confort”

  1. Bee Halton

    Thank you so much for this A to Z experience. I will come back to some of your posts as I didn’t have the time to read all of them. But you know: translating and writing this way helps so much to learn a new language. I translate German poetry prompts in May and it still teaches me something in English. Well, mostly that there are certain things you can’t translate from German into English LOL never mind. I am so impressed with your A to Z challenge and how much work you put into it. That is brilliant. And by the way. I have a French lady as a customer and she is so kind to teach me a few expressions every time she comes around. Today I even manage to answer her with “un peu” when she asked if I am tired 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks Bea! I am going to have to catch up on your A to Z posts as well! I had a hard time doing everything in April…writing the posts as well as reading and visiting others as much as I had wanted to. I will have to do my visiting starting now, but as they say “better late than never!” I am happy that you have a chance to speak “un peu de français” when you’re at work sometimes…lucky you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pascale Arnol

    Super, Kelli! Tu as fait des progrès, c’est certain! C’était un projet qui en valait la peine!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

