La vie est belle !

A to Z 2016 — Nicolas Duchamp, The French Flute Teacher

Bonjour mes chers lecteurs ! Bienvenue sur le site “Forty, C’est Fantastique.” Qu’est-ce que c’est ? De quoi s’agit-il ? Alors, c’est mon voyage vers la langue française. Un voyage sans fin. Je l’ai commencé il y a trois ans et demi. De temps en temps, il y a des gens qui me demandent : “Comment as-tu appris la langue française ?” Je leur réponds : “Je n’ai pas appris la langue française. Je suis toujours en train de l’apprendre.”

Parlez Français !

Parlez Français !

 


La Partie en anglais

Ok, I am being brave today. After all, the “A to Z Challenge” is a challenge after all! So, you may remember that in my theme reveal I mentioned that one reason to learn French is because it is the language of music, so I have done a 3-part video chat about the “French Flute School” with my flute professor, who happens to be French. And I did it in French! In fact, I take my flute lessons in French mostly.

 

My tips for you today, therefore, are these: stretch yourself in your new language by doing something real in that language, like taking a class, or a guided tour or something like that in the language, or write a letter of inquiry to a company in another country about a product that interests you. Secondly, stretch yourself by doing something you think you can’t do, like…hmmm…how about transcribing word-for-word a 28-minute video, for example? Or, reading a novel in your target language, or learning the words to a song and singing along with it? It really doesn’t have to be anything big, and it depends on your current level. But by stretching your wings in this way, you’ll find the ability to fly to the next level!

 

For this challenge, I also taught myself how to make subtitles on a video, which entailed making a transcription, (oh la la, c’était la plus grande dictée du monde!) and then a translation, and learning to use an .srt editor among other things. If anyone is interested in the actual transcription in French, just let me know in the comments and I can publish it after I “organize” it a bit. So no “Part in French” today, just the videos. If you are interested in music history, there is a lot of interesting stuff in here! I did my best with the subtitles, let me know what you think!

Un grand merci à mon prof, Monsieur Duchamp !!

Allons-y !


 

 

If you want to know more about M. Duchamp and his music, please visit his website, http://www.frenchfluteteacher.com   Ça vaut le détour ! 

 


Le mot du jour from Larousse.fr : (you can click on the word to go to their site, which includes a pronunciation of the word)

Nénuphar:

  • Nom usuel de deux nymphéacées des étangs et mares, l’une à fleurs blanches (nymphea), l’autre à fleurs jaunes (nuphar), possédant une souche enracinée au fond et des fleurs et feuilles flottantes.

 

nénuphar. Larousse.fr Retrieved March 15, 2016, from http://www.larousse.fr/dictionnaires/francais/nénuphar/54136?q=Nénuphar#53779

In English: water-lily

Ex:

“Mon mari et moi avons traversé un champ de fleurs en faisant une randonnée hier soir, où nous avons vu un étang plein de nénuphars. ”

“My husband and I crossed a field of flowers when we went for a hike yesterday evening where we saw a pond full of water-lilies.”

des nénuphars

N

 

4 Responses to “A to Z 2016 — Nicolas Duchamp, The French Flute Teacher”

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

