La vie est belle !

A to Z 2016 — l’Immersion Virtuelle

Bonjour mes chers lecteurs ! Bienvenue sur le site “Forty, C’est Fantastique.” Qu’est-ce que c’est ? De quoi s’agit-il ? Alors, c’est mon voyage vers la langue française. Un voyage sans fin. Je l’ai commencé il y a trois ans et demi. De temps en temps, il y a des gens qui me demandent : “Comment as-tu appris la langue française ?” Je leur réponds : “Je n’ai pas appris la langue française. Je suis toujours en train de l’apprendre.”

Parlez Français !

Parlez Français !

 


La Partie en anglais

How do you like the way I flip back and forth from French to English for the titles of these posts in order to make them fit the letter of the day? C’est cool, n’est-ce pas ? Because “Virtual Immersion” doesn’t work for “I” in English, but thanks to different rules of syntax, “L’Immersion Virtuelle” works just fine in French 🙂 I could have just said “Immersion” but due to the fact that I can’t actually move to France, it isn’t a real “immersion.” Anyway, this is probably my biggest “astuce” for “apprendre le français.”  I simply find or create something “French” everywhere I go, and in everything I do. I call this “Virtual Immersion.” My husband just says that I am “obsessed.” I’m not sure that is a nice thing to say on his part. Tant pis. 

I could list all the ways I do this, but many of them are separate “A to Z” posts, so I’ll just give you a few that didn’t fit a particular letter, or that I had too many and had to choose one. You already know that I have taken French into the kitchen with me. I have French recipes and French chef videos. My husband likes this part, and I even put labels on stuff in the kitchen to help him remember the words. I don’t know if that worked, but one thing I really could do to help him is to say certain sentences in French when we are cooking together. Like, “Peux-tu me donner une fourchette, s’il te plaît ?” 

I watch French movies on Netflix and Amazon Prime, with and without subtitles. Also, there are a plethora of TED talks in French on YouTube. There are make-up tutorials in French, tons of vlogs, comedy skits, documentaries…you get the idea. I love YouTube for French videos. I can’t even scratch the surface of what’s available. Click on one, then click on another. You know how that works. At my house we call that the “You Tube Rabbit Hole” phenomenon.

If I am in the house by myself, I talk to myself out loud in French. Hmmm. Maybe I shouldn’t admit that. Oh well, too late now. So yes, I say to myself, “alors, où sont mes clés ? ”  and stuff like that.  I listen to French songs in the car. Sometimes I sing along. No, I probably won’t join you for karaoke. Well, maybe. In Paris. If I think I’ll never see you again.

I put French-language books and magazines and signs all over my house. I play games on my I-pad in French, even “Mots entre Amis.”  (“Words with Friends” which is like Scrabble, and can be played in several languages. In case you aren’t a game player or have otherwise been living in blissful ignorance of such things) I am part of three different French courses in addition to my private lessons — grammar, conversation/vocab, and a sort of “book-club”/conversation/”plus avançe” group that my husband calls the “super group.” Yes, we have capes. No, I can’t tell you about our super-powers or our secret identities.

I read the French parts of instructions for appliances that I buy, or the French on the labels of foods and cosmetics and clothing. I get excited when I see a French restaurant in any city I happen to be in and I go there not just to see if the food is good but also to see if they speak French in there.

So you see, with a little work, I have created une Immersion Virtuelle right here in Colorado, which is pretty far from any francophone country!  To improve at a language, you must practice it every single day. Ce n’est pas toujours facile de le faire, mais le principe est très simple! 

 


The Part in French

Vivre dans un pays francophone est la meilleure façon d’apprendre le français. Ça, c’est indiscutable mais je ne peux pas le faire ! Donc, je crée chez moi une “immersion virtuelle”. Comment faire ça ? Alors, si vous lisez entièrement mon défi “A à Z” , je vous donnerai beaucoup d’idées.  Aujourd’hui, je vais vous expliquer quelques “astuces” que je n’ai pas mises dans mon alphabet.

Avant que je ne commence, je dois vous avouer que je suis un peu fofolle. Même mon mari, il se moque un peu de ce que je fais. Ça veut dire que ce n’est pas pour tout le monde. Moi, j’ai beaucoup de temps libre grâce à ma profession. J’ai de la chance !

Alors, on y va. Je trouve du français à faire n’importe où. J’écoute des “Podcasts” et des chansons françaises dans ma voiture.  Oui, je chante un peu. Je joue aux jeux vidéos sur mon I-pad en français. Je mets des livres et des magazines en français partout chez moi.

Je regarde des vidéos sur YouTube comme TED talks en français. Il y a tellement de vidéos en français, on peut passer des heures et des heures à les regarder.

Bien sûr, je cuisine avec des recettes françaises. Pour aider mon mari à apprendre le français, j’ai mis des étiquettes sur plusieurs objets à la cuisine. C’est à moi maintenant de poser des questions à mon mari comme : “Peux-tu me donner une assiette, s’il te plaît ?”

Je suis trois cours de français et des leçons particulières. J’ai un cours de grammaire, un cours de conversation et un cours “plus avancé” où l’on discute des romans français. Mon mari dit que c’est un “super-groupe.” C’est vrai que nous avons des capes comme Superman, mais nos super-pouvoirs sont secrets. (Chut!)

Je me parle à moi-même en français quand je suis toute seule chez moi. Bien entendu, ce n’est pas une maladie mentale, je dis les phrases à haute voix comme “Où sont mes clés ?” et les choses comme ça, c’est tout.

Et  voilà, c’est comme ça que je crée une “Immersion Virtuelle” en plein milieu du Colorado pour améliorer mon français. C’est tout simple : pour apprendre une langue étrangère, il faut la pratiquer chaque jour.

 


Le mot du jour from Larousse.fr : (you can click on the word to go to their site, which includes a pronunciation of the word)

Inattendu(e):

  • À quoi on ne s’attendait pas : Une repartie inattendue.
  • Dont la présence, la visite était imprévue ; se dit de cette présence, de cette visite.

inattendu. Larousse.fr Retrieved March 15, 2016, from http://www.larousse.fr/dictionnaires/francais/inattendu/42179?q=inattendu#42085

In English: Unexpected

Ex:

“Hier j’ai eu une rencontrée inattendue au magasin avec mon amie d’enfance que je n’ai pas vue depuis 10 ans ! Quelle surprise ! ”

“Yesterday at the store I unexpectedly ran into my childhood friend whom I had not seen for 10 years! What a surprise!”

I

 

4 Responses to “A to Z 2016 — l’Immersion Virtuelle”

  1. Bee Halton

    Blimey, I know it is not a nice thing to say but maybe your husband is right???? ;-). On the other hand though: If I really want to learn more French I better take you as an example 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Audrey

    Super le concept fr / en (énorme comme travail !!) 😉 “If I am in the house by myself, I talk to myself out loud in French. Hmmm. Maybe I shouldn’t admit that. Oh well, too late now.” : J’adore ! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Merci, Audrey. Et merci de me suivre. Je vais visiter votre blog aussi! Je travaille actuellement sur mon “A to Z 2017” qui a un thème français aussi 🙂 Vous aimez Paris?

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

