La vie est belle !

Teaser Tuesday and #LoIsInDaBlog — Classic Love

Love Bee’s “Love is in da Blog.” She has helped me discover some really fun prompts this month, including this “Teaser Tuesday”.  I love books, so why would I not want to play along?! Here are the official rules from “A Daily Rhythm” : 

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

meme-TeaserTuesday-dkblue-boxed

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 
(Taken from A Daily Rhythm)
Bee gave us the following as the #LoIsInDaBlog “add-on” today: A teaser from a classic love story (with or without broken hearts)
The astonished Angel looked at him, caught the irrepressible gleam of Irish fun in his eyes, and they stood and laughed together. Freckles did not realize how he was talking that morning.”  — from “Freckles” by Gene Stratton Porter, pg 93
My Teaser is from Gene Stratton Porter’s “Freckles.”  It’s a book I loved as a girl. I remember that it was a book my mother loved also, and she gave me an illustrated copy of it, which I still have. The book was originally published in 1904 (so I guess that makes it a “classic”!)  and takes place in the swamp area of eastern Indiana, a place that I have only visited in reading this book. I found it to be both an adventure story and a romance.  Et vous, mes chers lecteurs?  Have you ever read this book, or any of the others by this lovely American author?
IMG_4359

 

5 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday and #LoIsInDaBlog — Classic Love”

  1. Bee Halton

    No I don’t know it but as I am blessed with red hair and a good deal of freckles and I am sure I should have been born in the UK or Ireland it will go on my reading list 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Timelesslady

    Freckles is a beautiful story. Gene Stratton Porter is an amazing author. My favorite of her books is titled, “The Harvester.” Another of my favorite Stratton-Porter books is “A Girl of the Limberlost.” The descriptions in both these books of the landscape, plants, moths and butterflies, is outstanding.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I loved “A Girl of the Limberlost” as well, and I recently found a well-traveled, illustrated 1913 copy of “Laddie” in a used bookstore that managed to end up in my house…

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

