La vie est belle !

#JusJoJan — Odd/Even

Another Saturday, here already! What is happening to 2016? I’ve been “jotting” away, almost keeping up with Just Jot It January. With a couple of exceptions, I feel like my “jots” are all “Stream of Consciousness”, although there have been a few that were a bit more thoughtful. Maybe even worthy of revisiting and doing something better with later. I am not sure what to do with “Odd/Even.” I mostly think of numbers, and that mostly makes me think of work. “East is least, West is best” is how a flight student remembers that going Eastbound you fly odd altitudes and Westbound you fly even ones. In case you ever wondered why planes don’t run into each other in the sky. There are rules about that sort of thing. 🙂

 

Would you like to know something funny about my job? Every day that I work, I fly multiple flights (legs). At the beginning of the day, the Captain will decide who is the “flying pilot” for each leg. There are two pilots, so we trade off who is “flying” and who is “monitoring.” Sometimes he/she lets me choose which ones I want to fly. One Captain in particular likes to decide by chance. He spins the heading indicator very fast, and asks me to call out “odd” or “even” and he stops spinning when I say it. If he lands on what I call, I get to decide whether to start or finish the day.

 

How many  times do we decide things by flipping a coin, I wonder? Do we do it because we really don’t care what the outcome is, because we care but wish to appear as though we don’t care? Because we like to flip through things like TV or radio channels, coins,  rocks, catalog or magazine pages, just for the excitement of seeing what pops up next “by chance?” I love doing that, but at the same time I hate it. I listen to my online radio subscription quite often, and I love the “random” feature, or the pre-made playlists by genre, because there is that anticipation always of “what’s next?” Sometimes it’s fun, but sometimes I don’t like it when I do that because it means that I am not living in the present moment and simply enjoying the song that is playing NOW.   Our world is getting so distracted, so scattered. I have too many interests sometimes. Too many choices. It’s overwhelming at times. My mother always tells me of a story of me being a child and somebody filling my plate with too much food. I didn’t eat any of it, just stared at it because it was too much and I didn’t know how to approach it. I think life gets that way sometimes, and that’s when it is useful to have a coin to toss to help decide where to start.

 

Qu’en pensez-vous, chers lecteurs?  Do you flip coins to make decisions sometimes? What makes you do that?

 

 

This post is for #JusJoJan and #SoCS both prompts being gifts from Linda G Hill…

Odds are, you'll find the rules by clicking here...even if you didn't mean to do it.

Odds are, you’ll find the rules by clicking here…even if you didn’t mean to do it.

image

13 Responses to “#JusJoJan — Odd/Even”

  1. John Holton

    And north- and southbound flights fly at the 500’s (e.g. 21,500 ft.), right?

    Introducing a degree of randomness is called a stochastic process. I think that’s why we flip coins, roll dice, and take advantage of sites like Random.org. Maybe we hope it’ll lead us down a less-traveled road…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Actually, the 500 altitudes are only used (in the US) below 18000ft for what we call “VFR” or Visual Flight Rules. That means that the airplanes are not on “Instrument Flight Plans” and while they are not under constant following and contact with ATC (although they might be) they follow strict FAA rules. They follow the same even/odd rules but at the 500 altitudes. IFR (Instrument Flight Rules) aircraft use the whole (non-500′) altitudes. VFR = heading of 0-179 uses odd thousand+500, heading 180-359 uses even thousand+500. Above 18000 everyone is on an Instrument flight plan and are assigned odd thousand for heading 0-179 and even thousand for 180-359. Planes below 18000 are thus always separated by at least 500 feet vertically, and above that, they are separated by 1000 feet. That would be the “simple” explanation. For the “complex” explanation, there are wiki’s on the Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR’s) Sorry…flight instructor mode came on for a second…oops! But as to the “less-traveled” road, yes, I think you are absolutely right on that one!

      Like

      Reply
      • John Holton

        Actually, I enjoyed hearing all that… I’ve always been a weather enthusiast, and there used to be a show called “A. M. Weather” that would give the aviation forecast, so I’ve heard some of the lingo (IFR, VFR, MVFR, convection, etc.). I’ll be sure to check out the FAA’s wiki. Plus, I flew a lot (as a passenger) from 1984 through 2006, and you know how it is:ya hear things… XD

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • jetgirlcos

          Yep 🙂 Weather geek, eh? I used to be like that until I started flying for the airlines. Now I just go to work no matter what (even if driving there is treacherous) and we try to fly on time, and if the weather doesn’t allow, we sit in the airport until it does. Glamorous, non? 😉

          Like

        • John Holton

          My reason for watching the aviation forecast was to see if I would be flying through turbulence…

          I’ve sat in many an airport waiting for planes or better weather. Anyone who thinks traveling for a living is glamorous ought to try business travel for a few years and see what they think of it then. Dennis Miller summed it up beautifully: When you’re sitting on your bed in your underwear, watching TV and eating cookies from a vending machine, you know you’re living in the fast lane…

          Liked by 1 person

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

