La vie est belle !

Just a word on “Where Things Come From”

I want to give fair warning to any of mes chers lecteurs who may be vegetarian or who may have delicate sensibilities…the slide show attached to this post could be considered a bit graphic.

 

Now, here in the US, it is the week of Thanksgiving (click here for awesome History channel video), and the “traditional” American Thanksgiving meal includes a roasted turkey and dressing (or stuffing, but as Alton Brown says, “stuffing is evil”), mashed potatoes, “green bean casserole” (also evil in my opinion), cranberry sauce or relish, sweet potatoes (traditionally served topped with marshmallows…ewww) and pumpkin or pecan pie.  The supposed star of this feast is the turkey, which is sad because it is usually the worst part of the whole thing! Turkeys are notoriously hard to cook, the breast is dry as a bone, (think of this famous scene in the 1989 movie”Christmas Vacation”) or if the breast is cooked properly, the dark meat is underdone. The USDA recommends cooking the bird to a temperature of 165º F which will definitely save you from food-borne illness like salmonella but will also almost guarantee you a dry bird. To overcome this, we have devised methods to brine, fry, inject, and all other types of things to do to the birds to avoid this. (I have to say that Alton Brown’s method has served us the best over the years).  

 

I have a confession. I actually don’t really like turkey very much. OK, I really don’t like the “traditional” American Thanksgiving “feast” all that much either. I find that it’s a lot of work for a meal that is usually “so-so.”  In fact, I asked my mom if we could have Green Chile instead of turkey when I go to my folks house this year. Thankfully, she said yes 🙂  Whew. Now that that is out of the way, I’ll continue with my story.

My husband’s co-worker raises “heritage turkeys”  as in old breeds raised from chicks in humane circumstances without crowding, antibiotics, stress, or any of the other “issues” that mass-produced birds have.  So we bought one this year, not exactly for Thanksgiving day (when we will be having Green Chile with my folks) but just for us, mostly to see if there is a huge difference between this turkey and All Other Turkeys.  She delivered it to us Saturday morning fresh from the processor. We had a picture taken just a few days before, and in fact when we got the bird, she had been walking around a mere hours before. We brined it (because that is still a great way to impart flavor to just about any kind of meat) and then on Monday we cooked it. I have provided a slide show below of the whole process. Yes, it is delicious, and we will be making a soup stock and soup from the bones and the leftover meat. (I intend to add green chile to this soup because I am a true New Mexican and that is what we do. Indeed, everything is better with green chile.)

The verdict? Yes, if I’m going to have a turkey I would absolutely do it this way. Why? Because I like knowing where my food comes from and how it’s treated before I eat it. I am no farmer, so it’s worth it to me to pay someone else to take this kind of care. Plus, it was delicious. Not the least bit dry, in fact it was the juiciest turkey I have ever eaten. Am I now in love with turkey? Not really. I am enjoying this turkey, but I will say that I still prefer other meats to turkey.

All that to say that I am thankful for my husband’s friends who raised this beautiful bird and for their respect for Where Things Come From.

Et vous, chers lecteurs?  Do you love turkey? If you are American, what is your opinion about the “traditional” Thanksgiving meal? What kinds of traditions does your family have? If you are from somewhere else, would you like to try a meal like this? Do you try to always “know where your food comes from” ? Is this kind of assurance valuable to you? Dites-moi ! Tell me in the comments, I love to hear from you!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

14 Responses to “Just a word on “Where Things Come From””

  1. tnkerr

    My turkey is always, always, always cooked on the barbecue. It keeps it from drying out. I have some dried and crushed green chili that I bought in Tularosa which will be liberally sprinkled on the (un-evil) dressing. My daughter has a recipe, that she claims is from Alton Brown, for Chipotle Sweet Potatoes which I also hope to get a taste of on Thursday, although I’ll be in Santa Cruz instead of New Mexico.
    Have fun and enjoy your feast, I’m almost jealous!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Yes, yes, the chipotle sweet potato recipe! It’s AWESOME. My husband did one on the Traeger smoker/grill last year that was, apparently, amazing because he won first prize at the church turkey cook-off 🙂 I didn’t get to try it because I was in NM eating green chile with my parental units. Maybe he could do a “heritage” bird this way next year!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Bea dM

    Your naturally bred bird does sound much more reassuring than the usual variety. But I’m going to give you a really cheesy answer : I totally adore Thanksgiving turkey the “traditional” way – memories of a happy span of childhood in NYC and of everything that formed a love of the US, its history, values etc. It’s always been a hassle outside the US to find cranberry sauce, I’ve finally adapted to the watered-down Swedish IKEA variety. Sigh… I love freedom in the kitchen but Green Chile? Is that as spicy as the food I remember from Albuquerque?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      • jetgirlcos

        P.S. I love cranberry sauce and I would miss it too. I make mine with cane sugar, chopped candied oranges that I make myself and just a few drops of orange flower water. Not exactly traditional but I think it’s really tasty! My mom always made “cranberry relish” which was made in the food grinder with whole fresh oranges and raw cranberries, then mixed with a lot of sugar and left to macerate. She put chopped pecans and celery right before serving. It was crunchy and sweet! Happy Thansgiving, Bea!

        Like

        Reply
  3. John Holton

    This looks like turkeys I remember from when I was a kid, when they weren’t fed growth hormones to make them enormous. I think turkeys like this one taste better; the effect of all those hormones is that the meat comes out dry and not quite as tasty. Bet this tasted glorious.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Sammy D.

    I’m with you – turkey is not my favorite but I confess I love the traditional sides of mashed potatoes and stuffing. I’m not a pie fan so I make delicious pumpkin bread instead. This year we are having BBQ ribs and butternut squash casserole.

    I always bought organic turkeys and one year unknowingly (until carving time) cooked it upside down. It was so moist, we continued with upside down in the ensuing years.

    Blessings to you and your family, Kelli, with safe travels for all 💖💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Le Génie

    Humm !
    Evidemment, j’aimerais bien goûter cette fameuse Dinde du Thanksgiving … Bien que n’étant pas un expert de sa préparation et des différents plats qui peuvent l’accompagner, je ne pourrais pas l’apprécier comme un natif…
    Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’agit de nourriture un peu plus élaborée comme celle d’une fête, les français sont sensibles à la provenance des produits…
    Et comme tu connais ma grande expertise en cuisine :=) cela n’empêche pas que ton post m’ait mis l’eau à la bouche…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Oui, c’est évident que les français sont fiers de leurs produits locaux ! Tu sais, aux États-Unis il n’y pas de signification comme le «AOP» en Europe. Quant aux hommes dans la cuisine, à Thankgiving ils restent dans la salon traditionnellement où ils regardent les matchs de «football américain » à la télé !! 😄

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

