La vie est belle !

SoCS — What did you say you wanted on your cake??

Strange. Different. Odd. Weird.

I guess that I have become “one of those people.”  Someone that makes strange requests in stores, or in this case, a bakery.

So tomorrow is “Reformation Sunday.”   The root of the word “Protestant” is “protest.”  Martin Luther wrote “95 Theses” which protest against clerical abuses, especially nepotism, simony, usury, pluralism, and the sale of indulgences. It is generally believed that on 31 October 1517, Luther posted the ninety-five theses,  on the door of All Saints’ Church in Wittenberg. In reading the scriptures, Luther could not find any support for the idea that one could attain salvation through payment or works of any kind, but that it was given solely through God’s Grace and faith in Jesus Christ. This idea (sola fide) is central to many protestant doctrines. He is quoted as having said this:

Unless I am convinced by proofs from Scriptures or by plain and clear reasons and arguments, I can and will not retract, for it is neither safe nor wise to do anything against conscience. Here I stand. I can do no other. God help me. Amen.”  Martin LutherLuther’s Response to the Inquisition at the Diet of Worms
German religious reformer (1483 – 1546)

He also railed against the idea that the Church, which at that time was quite wealthy, was building this Basilica using the money of the poor, who were convinced that they needed to give their last dime in order to eliminate the need for acts of penance in this life and in the hereafter. You can read more about his ideas Here.

He is said to have nailed these “95 theses” to this church door in Wittenburg on Oct. 31, 1517. For Lutherans and many Reformed Protestant churches, it is the day that we remember the historic action of Martin Luther which is said to have sparked the Protestant Reformation in 1517.

Door of the Schlosskirche (castle church) in Wittenberg to which Luther is said to have nailed his 95 Theses on the 31st of October 1517, sparking the Reformation.

Door of the Schlosskirche (castle church) in Wittenberg to which Luther is said to have nailed his 95 Theses on the 31st of October 1517, sparking the Reformation.

 

Ok. So back to why I am a “strange” person. I belong to a protestant church who remembers this Sunday as “Reformation Day.”  That’s not the strange part. Many people belong to such churches, many of which will have some sort of remembrance of this event during their services tomorrow. The strange thing about me is that I am in charge of bringing refreshments to church on Sunday mornings. I usually get mini-cinnamon rolls or something like that, just for people to have with their coffee.  But I also like wordplay, and although this occasion is solemn, and not really light-hearted, I couldn’t get out of my head this idea that I should have a cake with…wait for it…95 Pieces!!  The bakery guy didn’t get it. In the end, I ordered a plain cake and I will draw a grid with 95 numbers on it myself. So yeah, I guess that is a little strange. <sigh> I am certain that at least a few people at my church will appreciate the idea. I guess that makes them strange too? Maybe not. Maybe thinking of the idea is stranger than appreciating it.  Eh, I guess being strange isn’t the worst thing, is it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “strange/stranger/strangest.”  Use one, use ’em all, or just let them inspire you. Have fun!

 

 

 

16 Responses to “SoCS — What did you say you wanted on your cake??”

    • jetgirlcos

      Unless you’re Lutheran, you probably wouldn’t have. I grew up Methodist and never really heard of it as a “day.” It is interesting to think about why Catholic and Protestant are different, even though they are both Christian.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. summerstommy2

    Hi Kelli, I do like posts where I learn something new. I didn’t know today was that remembrance day. I think your cake idea is great. 95 slices suggests small slices doesn’t it? I hope it all went well and that some got it and moreso enjoyed the fruits of your hard labour…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Glad you thought so! The cake actually turned out not too bad! And several people caught the humor. I hung a copy of the 95 theses above the table, you know, in case anyone needed a little light reading. All the decorations aside, I have to say that Costco makes a really tasty cake!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. nearlywes

    See I laughed, I liked the idea, but it mostly stems from my appreciation for Martin Luther. He was easily one of the most interesting people in his time line. A man who was willing to stand up and say ‘This is some bull $!%#’. Luckily he wasn’t that adamant about it and was able to make a civil case for why it was all wrong. Any idea that is strong enough to birth a branch of religion should be admired by all, even people who aren’t religious such as myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Bon site, très intéressant ! Oui, c’était une époque de grands conflits. Finalement, ce n’est pas des réligions qui font des guerres, c’est des gens !

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

