La vie est belle !

SoCS — Still plugging away

Alors, mes chers lecteurs,

I am still working on finishing the assignments from the “Writing 201- poetry” course.  I like to challenge myself in this way, but it is not easy for me to write in one day something resembling a poem. So I am still writing, still making drafts, still trying to figure out these forms and still committed to finishing the assignments, even if it will be a bit late. In the meantime, here I am, still doing my favorite prompt, the SoCS, because SoC writing is where I feel comfortable, so to speak.

SoCS means I can just chatter on about whatever Linda’s prompts bring to my mind. Chattering on about stuff is something I do often, if you know me well. In a group where I don’t really know people, I’m actually shy. But here, I talk to you, my dear readers, and even though I know it’s a “publicly readable” blog, I still feel like it’s ok to just be “me.” That is really strange, isn’t it? Still, I guess that’s how a lot of bloggers are, isn’t it.

So, that “publish” button on WordPress. “Publish” – like the word “public” because that is really how it is. Theoretically, anyone could be reading this post right now! Even people who don’t like me, or whom I don’t like. Strange thing, that. Now, me, I’m just a small-time blogger, not an “author” of any sort, so I really doubt that I need to worry about that sort of thing. But I wonder how that is for a “real” author? Authors may not be simultaneously published and selfish with their works. You publish a book, your detractors may buy it. You can’t publish a book and somehow say, “Okay, here is my grand opus. I want everyone in the world to read it. Except Joe. Joe can’t buy a copy of it, or read it. Joe isn’t allowed to like it or hate it. I forbid Joe from looking at its cover in the bookstore. In fact, Joe should stay out of bookstores that carry it. Joe can’t visit my website. I detest Joe and everything he stands for, and I don’t want his eyes sullying my novel by looking at it. And if he liked it?! Well! How dare he! I won’t have it!” I think authors just have to deal with the fact that Joe can in fact buy their books. Joe could even buy a copy and ridicule it or use it as fodder for a good debate. Or worse, he could buy a copy and actually like it. He could recommend it to his friends if he wanted to. He could quote it in his blog, or he could write a book review of it for his high school English class. Quelle horreur !

 

Anyway, there you go. Stream of Consciousness weirdness. This is what goes on in my brain. Anyway, the point was, I am still planning to finish the poetry assignments, and I will still publish them, being the “fearless blogger” that I have become after “publishing” just over 300 posts. Thankfully for me, I have wonderful readers. If I have any true detractors, they are silent ones, and that is perfectly ok with me 🙂

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “still.”  Use any definition of the word in your post. Have fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 Responses to “SoCS — Still plugging away”

    • jetgirlcos

      haha 🙂 Luckily for me I’m not really enough of a writer to have a “Joe” of my own, but now I know the answer to my question: Yes. Real writers have “Joes.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. jsackmom

    I’m still plugging away at my wordpress assignments as well. I’ve yet to publish any of them as I write when I have a few spare moments and my draft folder is overflowing with unfinished ideas and blog posts. I love SOCS I must get back to that prompt to let the creativity flow. I really enjoyed reading this one today. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Le Génie

    Hum est-ce Joe le “plombier” (présidentielle de 2008) qui fait son retour sur les bogs ?
    En tout cas, difficile de lui interdire de voter pour ou contre ton blog.
    La démocratie est au dessus de nos opinions même contraires…

    Voter pour k.

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

