La vie est belle !

SoCS — Trick or Treat?

Trick or Treat?  Well, that is the question about this time of the year, and I say, “Neither one.” At the risk of sounding “Un-American”, I have to admit that I don’t like Halloween. I don’t like it as an adult, and I never particularly cared for it as a kid, either. As a kid, I did the “trick or treat” thing out of obligation, because it was sort of expected. Everyone at school was excited about their costumes and parties and of course, Trick-or-treating. Not that I didn’t like eating the candy. I liked eating the candy. But dressing up and going to stranger’s (or even to friends) houses and asking for candy did not fit in well with my introverted and socially awkward self. Neither did parties.

I only remember one year when it was fun. I think I must have been 10 or 11 years old, and my favorite teacher organized a school party where everyone dressed up like a character from literature. (Yes, even then, I was already a book nerd.)  I chose the “Calico Cat” from the poem by Eugene Field which I had memorized that year. Upon re-reading the poem now, I find it quite violent, therefore, I am sure it is now banned. Anyway, my mother sewed me a cat costume out of a red and yellow calico material, complete with tail and a hood with ears. I loved that costume, and it is the only one I actually remember from childhood. I think I had a good time at the class party as well, but that part doesn’t stand out in my memory.

I only went to one other memorable Halloween party, when I was in my twenties, teaching public school music, and one of my teacher friends had a costume party at her house. She was one of those “socially ept” people who you’d love to hate but just can’t because she was so darned nice. She hosted pretty much every party I attended in my twenties, when I thought it might be important somehow, to go to parties. So I sewed two costumes for myself and my husband to be Robin Hood and Maid Marion. That was the last time I used my sewing machine. It was also the only time (to my knowledge) that my husband has ever in his life worn tights. I don’t know what happened to the costumes. Goodwill, I think. It was a fun party though, as parties go.

As an adult, I mostly see Halloween as nothing more than (yet another) excuse for adults to go out and get drunk and stupid. What a combination, that! A night when there are bunches of young kids roaming the streets begging for candy, whilst at the same time a bunch of intoxicated adults are driving on those same streets! Great. What an awesome combination that makes.

Anyway, there are many reasons to like or dislike Halloween, but I think my reasons mostly have to do with my home-body-ness. And the fact that I have no kids of my own. Which is probably a good thing. I am 100% certain that God gives everyone the exact number of children that He wants them to have. In my case, this number is zero. And there is nothing wrong with this. I like my friends children, on an individual basis, you know, but maybe teaching elementary school music for a couple of years back then changed my outlook on children in general. Being a good parent is a truly hard job and those who do it well amaze me! I think good parents are heroes.

As a tradition, if I’m not working on that day, my husband and I and one of our friends usually spend the evening in our living room watching a non-scary movie while eating pizza. We eat candy too, but the window shades are drawn and the porch light is off. I don’t answer the door and give out candy. Some people think that’s mean, but I think it is sensible.

Ok, I’ve said it. Do you think I am a horrible person, chers lecteurs, for not liking Halloween? 

 

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “-eat.”  Use the word “eat” or add letters to it to make a different word. Don’t cheat!

 

 

 

27 Responses to “SoCS — Trick or Treat?”

  1. Bea dM

    Halloween has nothing to do with Italian traditions, but has caught on for maybe a decade now. Just yet another consumeristic ploy (together with Mother’s Day, Father’s Day etc. ) for people to buy stuff – in this case costumes and candy. Considering how superstitious and afraid of anything Gothic average Italians are, it’s a bit perplexing that it’s caught on! Besides, kids are always chaperoned by adults, which I would imagine takes whatever fun out of it? the only nice thing I saw last year were cute little white frosting ghost gingerbread cookies in a pastry shop 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Keith Channing

    Depending on the children involved, and the level and quality of adult supervision, the whole exercise seems to me to become one of either legalised begging, or an excuse for those of a bullying bent to attempt to terrorise those adults who choose not to join in the ‘festivities’.
    Happily, our little hamlet (three occupied houses, five adults and no resident children) is not visited by anyone at this time, so it isn’t an issue for us.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. George

    I’m with you….this is my least favorite “holiday”. I participate in terms of passing out candy and being dragged to a party but I’m a reluctant participant. ..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Cheryl

    My kids love Halloween, more than I ever did. I loved sewing in my non-traveling life, so they sometimes got pretty amazing costumes and our church had a cool harvest thingy. I’d prefer to watch movies and eat pizza, but I did like the sewing part.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. John Holton

    I don’t like it, either, and never did. I did the trick-or-treat thing, sometimes willingly, usually not. The notion of dresing up in costume and ringing on strangers’ doorbells never appealed to me. Mary and I usually turn out the lights in the living room and wait upstairs until the neighbor kids stop running up and knocking. Although they tend not to come to our house, because we leave the porch light off. The candy, greeting card, and costume purveyors have turned it into the holiday second only to Christmas in money spent. There’s something wrong with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Opinionated Man

    I was brought up to “hate” halloween and I still do. I guess my parents did a good job. I never liked the whole “fake blood” and being scared thing… I am a big scardy cat apparently.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. JoAnna

    I used to love to dress up in costumes before I had kids, then loved dressing them up and walking around the neighborhood and giving out candy. except when kids came with NO costumes. That always irked me for some reason. Now the kids are grown, but we have dogs who would love to eat the candy and terrorize strange looking children coming to the door, so we leave the light off. Still, I wouldn’t mind dressing up in a costume again some day. The whole candy thing doesn’t seem very healthy though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Ha! The candy is the only part I like. I like when it’s on sale the day after Halloween for 50% off and I can buy a bag of tiny snickers and stick them in my flight bag for “emergencies.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • JoAnna

        I think I’ll check out those sales for some dark chocolate. I hear that’s healthy and it’s my favorite. With nuts for protein. For “emergencies.” 🙂

        Like

        Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I wonder, but I suppose it makes some kids really happy. Ultimately, it’s all about marketing, though, isn’t it? “Hallmark Holidays” right?

      Like

      Reply
  8. LindaGHill

    I loved Hallowe’en as a kid but now, not so much. It’s so much work and expense! And for what? I have a kid who adores going from house to house because he loves people and it’s a chance for him to say (wave) hello to everyone in the neighbourhood – but he doesn’t eat!! Anything!!! So who gets the candy? Me! I gain so much weight every November! Ugh!
    *end rant* 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I like that your son goes and gets chocolate for you! Sounds like it’s a gift from him to you. Didn’t you know? Gift chocolate has no calories 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  9. lucciagray

    The opposite happened to me! I never used to like the festivity when I was young, and as an adult I started enjoying it with my children and now with my grandchildren! I’ve bought my grandson a dracula costume for this year! Can’t wait to see him in it! My husband feels like you, he doesn’t take part at all. It’s just an excuse for a bit of fun, really, not much drinking for me, mainly playing with students and grandchildren😂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. Le génie

    hum, dommage de ne pas voir en photo ce fameux chat d’halloween !!
    Ce serait le comble pour une anti-Halloween, d’être une horrible personne le jour de cette fête !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

