La vie est belle !

SoCS — “All Available Information.”

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “information.”  Use it as your theme or use the word itself – it’s all up to you. Enjoy!

So, today when I read Linda’s prompt, being the nerdy girl that I am, I thought of 14 CFR §91.103, that is, “Title 14 of the Federal Code of Regulations, Chapter 1, subchapter F,  Part 91, subpart B,  §91.103”  This little piece of government-ese is familiarly known to pilots as “Part 91 of the Federal Aviation Regulations” or the FAR’s.  I thought of it because it tells me that, “Each pilot in command shall, before beginning a flight, become familiar with all available information concerning that flight.”   

Great idea! Now, read that again…”all available information.” Is that even possible?? ALL available information. Luckily for me, they go on to list what “all available information” must include, and it turns out that it’s actually reasonable 🙂

I wonder what would happen, though, if in general, people started trying to be familiar with “all available information” about all of their actions before beginning them? Before beginning a project at my house, if I was familiar with “all available information” on the process, would I still begin it?

Would I still check the box for “Shall John Smith be retained in office as Judge of the Appellate Court, First Judicial District?”…if I was familiar with “all available information about John Smith and how he has affected life in the First Judicial District?

Before making that snide comment about a stranger, what if I was familiar with “all available information” about that person? Would I still make the comment?

If I had been familiar with “all available information” about the current mechanical state of the car that I rented in Ireland, would I still have had a flat tire….errr…”TYRE” ?

 

Anyway, that’s the first thing I thought about. The second thing that popped into my head was this song from the early 80’s.  It’s still an awesome song 🙂

 

Truly, it isn’t possible to be familiar with “ALL” available information. There is just too much information available these days! It’s amazing that any of us can concentrate on any one thing long enough to even post a simple cursor blinking gif photo: Cursor flashing-cursor.gif

 

 

 

18 Responses to “SoCS — “All Available Information.””

  1. summerstommy2

    I think its called information overload isn’t it….great post Kelli and you raise some very important points about us knowing about any issue before us.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Sammy D.

    Manhatten Transfer !! Always awesome.

    Nowadays, I’m not as concerned about how much info is available; I’m concerned about how much ‘fact’ is actually bull, and how deftly truth is twisted to shape an agenda.

    But yes, I definitely want my pilots knowledgeable about ‘all available information!’

    Like

    Reply
  3. willowdot21

    I totally agree to know all relevant information is hard enough! To have to know all available information would bring the world to a total halt! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Bea dM

    The idea of my pilot not having “all available information” on our flight makes me queasy ! as for the rest of life, the only way to deal with the overload is to teach oneself to prioritize and eliminate what’s not much use to us….while figuring out which part is bull… Tall order!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I think it’s better to have “all *relevant* information” during each phase of flight, myself 😉 Luckily, that’s not too hard to discern! Don’t worry, we are extremely diligent about such things in our profession. Safety is the number one thing on the list! And yes, for every thing else, “figuring out which part is bull”…that is the tricky part!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Hazel

    Don’t find the expression ‘All available information’ very comforting at any time, especially in a plane. All available information may be pitifully little or even none !!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Luckily, “all information important and relevant to safety” is relatively easy to find and to sort out 🙂 Gotta love all the lawyer-ese in the regulations, though, right? 😉

      Like

      Reply
  6. Celine Jeanjean

    It’s not always helpful to try and find out all available information, it can lead to analysis paralysis. Something I’m well familiar with. I love what I call ‘academic procrastination’, i.e. carefully looking up every single bit of information available out there, and in the meanwhile I don’t actually take action and do what I’m supposed to be doing.

    But then again when it comes to people, it would be great to know all available information. As the saying goes, you never know what goes on behind closed doors. Then again it wouldn’t obviously because it would be invading someone’s privacy. But it might mean not judging or disliking someone we’d be tempted to judge or dislike.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. loricarlson66

    great post! I think in this instance, for some things all information available would be great… but I don’t think I want to know everything about everyone I come into contact with.. that could get scary… even scarier if they had all available info on me! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Le génie

    trop d’infos tuent l’un-formation des pilotes si j’ai bien compris… Assez de ces fast food indigestes d’internet….
    humm, allons à l’essentiel, sur ce blog par exemple !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

