La vie est belle !

SoCS — Almost enough? Almost too much?

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “almost.”  Use it however you’d like. Have fun!

 

I’m doing my SoCS about halfway through the day today because I was busy making…*Almost* too much ice cream. But…is there really such a thing as “too much ice cream?”  I mean, it’s frozen. You can keep it in the freezer for, you know, a while. If it lasts that long. I’m putting the dates on all of them just in case.

So what’s up with the ice cream? Actually, I think I can blame this on France. Yes, it is definitely France’s fault that I have *almost* too much ice cream in my freezer. You see, when we were in France, we were so inspired and amazed by all the local markets which sold in season and local products that when we got back home, we started to make good on the promise we’ve been making to ourselves to become “locavores” as much as we possibly can, anyway. Real food is good! But sadly, we are getting overwhelmed by industrially produced, chemical-laden, injected, homogenized, hormone-filled, junk food in this country. Some of it is, quite frankly, delicious. But it’s also scary to see what is happening to our bodies, our local farmers and our land because of it. If we don’t start protecting our real food, I am afraid it could disappear. In fact, a friend of mine recently recommended an interesting book on the topic called “The Dorito Effect” by Mark Schatzker.  I’m about a third of the way through it…I’m *almost* done 😉

I think we have *almost* covered our bases in our attempt to “eat local” as much as possible. Local dairy – check. Local beef and pork – check. Local eggs – check. Local farm cooperative for veggies – check. Everything else I just try to buy organic or as “real as possible.” Except for occasional junk food fixes and eating out, I think we’re set to do pretty well. I’m not the “pioneer-girl-back-to-the-farm-nouvelle-homesteader” type, but I want to support local farmers, and I love to cook. So that’s how far I go. In general, I have no talent with plants or animals, and no real desire to live in the country and learn to raise either one. I just want to show the people that do, that I appreciate them.

In any case, about the ice cream. As part of our attempt to support local foods, etc, we bought a share in a local dairy farm for raw milk and cream. I guess drinking raw milk is somewhat controversial, because it is illegal to sell in the state of Colorado. However, if you own your own cow or you are part of a cooperative, you may drink this milk. We found a lovely farm not too far from us which sells shares as a cooperative, and we took the tour. It’s a family run farm which has been in this particular family for nearly 100 years. We saw the cows and the milking and storage facility and the farmer and his family told us about their farm. These cows are loved! They eat organic grass all summer long, and in fact, they never eat grains. They are cared for as cows should be, and in fact are “happy cows.” It was clear to us that the farmer uses no chemicals on his grass, as we watched his 4 and 8-year-old sons romp in this very grass. They milk gathering and storing procedure is very impressive, very clean, and he explained the whole process to us. I have a lot of confidence in “our” farm! The milk is, in fact, delicious, although if you’re accustomed to pasteurized, homogenized, additive-laden milk, it’s quite different! It tastes like…milk, but fresher, a little more earthy, or grassy, or…hmmm. I can’t really describe this taste, but if you could taste it you’d know it was “real.”  It’s still full of all the good nutrients that are inherently present in milk before we take them away in processing and put in additives to make up for the loss. It has probiotics, those “good” bacteria that create stuff like yogurt and which aide in digestion. It has enzymes that help us digest the milk sugars, all kinds of good stuff. There’s a ton of information “out there” on why it’s better. All that being said, you must be careful to find a reputable source if you want to try this. The farm we use lives up to the highest standards and goes through rigorous testing to prove it.

What’s that? Oh yeah, the ice cream.  So, with the grass plentiful and the cows happy, they produce extremely rich milk, including a ton of cream! In fact, we have purchased a share of cream in addition to the milk that we get every week. My new hobby is trying to figure out ways to transform this rich cream into…delicious stuff. Now, here is a problem: Cream lends itself to a lot of applications that can adhere to one’s hips if one is not careful. So the logical thing to do is to make things that will freeze well and can be eaten a bit at a time during the year. Apparently the “surplus” of cream happens in the late spring and summer as the cows go out to pasture and eat the lushest grasses. So…what freezes well? Butter freezes well, and is quite a useful item in baking and cooking and what-have-you. I have made butter.

But, oh, yes, ice cream!  I found the most amazingly simple recipe for ice cream, which I have taken the liberty of using as a base for experimenting with interesting flavors, or as I recently learned, one says “parfums”  in French. I could stop taking the cream share, but I think that I am not quite done experimenting with the ice cream. Plus, the butter is really good, and I have made quiches and custards and other yummy things as well. I’m not sure exactly how bread pudding made with extra-rich cream, farm-fresh eggs, and home-made bread fits into a “healthy” diet, but at least I know the ingredients are pure 🙂

Ice cream experiments:

1. Started with chocolate. Amazing.

2. Vanilla bean. Beautiful, pure, milky sweet goodness.

3. Coffee-with-chocolate-caramel-swirl.  The flavors are right on, but I really need to figure out a technique for creating a “swirl.”

4. Cardamom-almond. My husband’s idea. Turned out pretty good!

5. Nectarine. Because we had nectarines. It tastes pretty much like peach ice cream because who can tell once it’s chopped up and frozen? It reminds me of when my dad used to make ice cream when I was little. His favorite was always the peach. Certain fruits are meant to go with cream, and peaches/nectarines are one of those.

6. Anise-with-candied orange peel-and-ginger.  This was today’s “experiment.”  I candied the orange peels myself, added some crystallized ginger, and 4 drops of pure anise oil to my base. I think it went well! It’s the ice cream you would want with Christmas dessert. Namely, Bizcochitos, the “official” cookie of the state of New Mexico. Yes, my home state has an official cookie. New Mexico rocks.

7. Strawberry. Now I have made the “big three” – Chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry, and I can make a neapolitan sundae.

 

My husband thinks I need to be *almost* finished, because he thinks we have *almost* too much ice cream, but I think maybe we just have *almost* enough, and there is a long way between *almost enough* and too much.  It’s ok to have ice cream for dinner, isn’t it? No? Well, maybe I need to invite some folks over for an ice cream tasting party, what do you think?

What flavor is next? Who knows? I’m taking suggestions, chers lecteurs.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

22 Responses to “SoCS — Almost enough? Almost too much?”

    • jetgirlcos

      I bet one could just steep the tea in the milk with the sugar before putting it into the ice-cream maker. Interesting idea…

      Like

      Reply
  1. willowdot21

    I never cease to be amazed and if I am honest occasionally dismayed by what ice cream is made of! But hey each to their own , I am very impressed that you are making the effort to use local produce it is always fresher and usually better for you . As with the real milk though sadly I cannot take the real milk in fact I can only really tolerate fully skimmed milk as I have stomach problems. The recipe for ice cream looks good too!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I am fortunate not to have any food-related sensitivities or allergies, I’m such a “foodie!” I think it must be very hard if you have to avoid certain ingredients because of the way they “hide” stuff in food, especially packaged food, these days. I have a friend who has a gluten sensitivity who even has to be careful what kind of chewing gum she buys, it’s just crazy!

      Like

      Reply
      • willowdot21

        It is crazy we were all so much better off when our food was not as messed about with. I honestly think the chemicals and sugars that are pumped into food theses days are making us fat and I’ll. I am not a moaning mini I take responsibility for my weight and health I visit the gym regularly and only eat healthy food, we buy wisely and cook from scratch. Well done you keep up the healthy local produce. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Prajakta

    This looks so gorgeous!!! I am feeling really green over your perfect consistency. I tried making it a few weeks back – Nutella flavored 🙂 But had the consistency of a pudding/mousse… Don’t know. You surely had a party here.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Mmmmm…nutella! Loving that idea! Worthy of working out the “swirling” problem, I think! As for the consistency, well, I just have an “almost” old-fashioned ice cream maker, one with the ice and salt and all that, but it’s got a motor so you don’t have to crank. It’s pretty much like the one my dad used to use 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Sammy D.

    I’m *almost* in a tizzy about your Happy Cows and fresh from the farm milk and cream. i’m *almost* ready to eat ice cream for late breakfast. Non?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Celine Jeanjean

    I’m so jealous of your dairy co-op share, and of the fact that you made your own butter! That must be amazing….. Next up is make your own bread to eat with your own butter? 😉 The candied orange peel and ginger and aniseed ice cream sounds amazing by the way, that will be perfect come Christmas time!!
    Damn, now I fancy ice cream, and it’s not even 9 am — I’ll second Sammy, je suis *presque* prete a manger de la glace pour le petit dejeuner 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      So, yeah I already made scones with the butter, pancakes with the buttermilk, and bread with the whey that we got from the mozzarella making experiment. (That one is a work in progress). It’s fun to play around with these things in the kitchen. Et si on dit “brunch” on peut manger la glace le matin, pas de soucis 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Celine Jeanjean

        haha tres vrai! Wow I’m so amazed you’ve done all that. I’ve tried making bread in the past and the result was something so dense and hard that if you were to throw it at ducks, you’d probably kill one 😉
        You’ll have to let us know about the mozzarella experiment, that’s really cool — and fresh, homemade mozzarella is going to be just divine!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  5. Le Génie

    K. tu n’arrêtes jamais de chercher et de faire toutes sortes de chosesdes choses. =)
    la prochaine au goût de café ?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      En fait, depuis que j’ai écrit cet article, j’en ai fait trois ou quatre de plus. Une au goût de café avec un peu de caramel-chocolat, à l’orange, gingembre et anise, au citron, à la fraise et aux mangues et noix de coco. Je vais faire deux autres cette semaine: chocolat Mexicaine (chocolat noir avec un petit peu de cannelle et de piment de Cayenne) et de la menthe avec des pépites de chocolat.

      Like

      Reply
  6. mltrautz@yahoo.com

    I love happy cows. I even wrote about them in a post called Don’t have a cow. I now want ice cream. Thanks for the 10 pounds. Doritoes, hmm, on top of ice cream? No, I am not pregnant.

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

