La vie est belle !

SoCS — Hello, My Name is…

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in! Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “name.” Do with it whatever comes to mind! Enjoy!

Hello, my name is…

Name, moniker, alias, nickname, pen-name, “nom-de-plume”, maiden name, appellation, designation, goes-by, surname, Christian name, secret name…

What does that mean? My parents spelled my name differently than the “norm.”  I think that’s pretty common these days because everybody wants a “Unique” name, but in the 70’s, I think maybe it was weird. I don’t really know why they chose to end it with an “i” instead of a “y.”  More “feminine”, maybe? In any case, people have been mis-spelling it my whole life. I don’t really care; it only really matters on legal documents, right?

It’s funny that today’s topic is names because I was discussing names with my mom just yesterday. I have the same middle name as my grandmother, which is kind of cool. She had a really glamorous sounding name, even though she was a farm girl from Mississippi. Both my brother and myself have a “family” name; I have my grandmother’s middle name, and my brother’s first name is the same as our dad’s middle name and our grand-dad’s middle name.

I started thinking about what a huge responsibility it is to give someone a name. I don’t have kids, so I can’t imagine what that would be like to be responsible for that! I have a colleague who named his sons very practical names like “George.” He says, “I want my children’s names to look good on a business card. A name that’s cute for a child isn’t necessarily a good thing for an adult.” It makes me feel sorry for all those celebrity’s kids who have such strange names. Although if their famous parents don’t squander their millions, maybe those kids will never have to worry about having business cards?

A name follows you everywhere, it impacts you socially, professionally, and personally.  I know for instance, that my own mother has never been particularly fond of her first name; she goes by her middle name. I think she’s right to do that, because I think her middle name suits her personality way better than her first name. Her first name is pretty, it’s just not her.

Isn’t it strange how we have a tendency to think, “Oh, she just looks like a ‘Helen,’ ” or “I would have pegged him for a ‘Kevin’, not a ‘John.'”  Even naming a pet takes some serious consideration. Ok, not really 🙂 I named my cat “Rafter” because when we brought him home for the first time, he was scared and he went up into the rafters. We had to lure him down with a can of tuna. Not very creative, just descriptive.  When we had dogs, they were retired greyhound dogs and they came already named. They say that you can change a dog’s name, but I have never thought that was a good idea. Besides, my two dogs had great names that fit them well.

This topic is apt because I have had names on the brain since yesterday when I found out that during A to Z I won a drawing with author Elizabeth Hein (whose last book, “How to Climb the Eiffel Tower” is fantastique) to name a cruise ship in her upcoming mystery/adventure novel! I’m thrilled and a bit scared! Names are a big deal, you know…

 

12 Responses to “SoCS — Hello, My Name is…”

  1. Valerie Jensen

    I still have a fond lil chuckle whenever I hear the word “Wiki” 🙂 Love reading your posts!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks, Val. I’m happy to have you reading along, my friend 🙂 I can’t believe it’s been so long since we were girls!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Oliana

    They sure are a big deal.When we chose our children’s names we said it aloud in English and in French to see how it sounded…we were careful to choose French names since their last name is French; we mimicked many names that kids could make fun of and in each language they are different taunts…As for animals, same thing…My last dog was Desirée because it took 3 dogs before we found one that my daughter was not allergic…elle était vraiment desirée…great post my dear and congrats on the winning!!

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thank you Oliana. Yes, I can’t imagine having to think up kids taunts in two languages before naming a child! Desirée…c’est parfait, je crois ! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Solveig

    Names are difficult, mine was often misspelled and pronounced… I even had teachers who called me “Sylvie”…
    When I was pregnant with my daughter, I didn’t know that it would be a girl, but I only had a name for a girl. We would have been lost in finding a suitable name if it were a boy (my a to z post entitled girl tells a bit of the story).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Le Génie

    Encore une belle pensée sur les choses de la vie !
    Les manières dont les Hommes se nomment ou sont nommés et non seulement un déterminisme social – familial mais aussi une filiation…
    Une très grande importance donc mais est-ce aussi vrai ?

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

