La vie est belle !

Notre Septembre Inoubliable – Les WC

 Allons-y ! On y va ! C’est parti ! Suivez-moi en France où je vais vous parler d’un mois de septembre inoubliable ! 

Let’s go! Follow me to France where I will tell you about a September to remember!

(To read last year’s post, “W is for…Where’s the W?” Click HERE )

Est-ce que nous y sommes allés? (Did we…errr… “go” there?)

Je dois vous dire, la question au-dessus n’est pas drôle en français. Mais c’est un peu amusant en anglais ! En tout cas, la réponse est…hmmm…”oui” ! 

I must tell you, the above question is not funny in French. But it’s a little bit amusing in English! In any case, the answer is…hmmm…”oui” !

Comment cela s’est-il passé ? (So how was it?)

D’accord. Ce sujet est vraiment bizarre, et un peu…délicat ? Néanmoins pour les touristes il y a des choses d’importantes à savoir.  Tout d’abord, les “WC”…franchement, quand j’étais en France je n’ai pas entendu ce mot. Tout le monde disait “Les toilettes.” Ma prof dit parfois “le petit coin” (je trouve cet euphémisme agréable !) .  Aujourd’hui, le plus important est que cela commence par “W” et il est dans mon “Petit Larousse.” 🙂 

Vraiment, les toilettes “publiques” ne sont pas comme aux États-Unis. Ici, on peut en trouver partout. Dans chaque magasin, centre commercial, station service…n’importe où ! Mais en France, elles sont rares. Dans les villes on peut parfois trouver des “Sanisettes”  dans la rue. Je vous avoue que je n’y suis jamais entrée.  Je n’ai pas de photo d’une “Sanisette.”  C’est probablement une bonne chose !

Je préfère m’asseoir à la terrasse d’un café, , et prendre un café.  Ensuite, on peut aller “au petit coin.”  C’est la meilleure façon.  C’est toujours une bonne idée d’avoir un café ou une tasse de thé. Une autre possibilité est d’aller à l’Office de Tourisme. J’y ai  très souvent trouvé des toilettes et de plus on peut ramasser des brochures de sites intéressants de la région !

Il y a aussi d’autres différences . En France, j’ai constaté plusieurs fois que les toilettes ne sont pas “gratuites.”  C’est important d’avoir des pièces de monnaie…au cas où. Et parfois vous pouvez rencontrer une “Madame pipi”  <–cliquez.  Ce métier est extrêmement rare aux États-Unis. Elles s’assurent que les toilettes sont propres et bien équipées.  J’en ai rencontré une, une fois à la gare de Lyon à Paris. Elle était gentille, et bien sûr je lui ai laissé un pourboire. C’est nécessaire ! Les toilettes sont propres !  

Alors, il faut que je m’arrête maintenant. La dernière chose que je vais vous dire est que le mot “WC” n’est pas un mot français. C’est un mot qui est venu d’Angleterre. En réalité la lettre “W” est assez rare en français. (cliquez ici pour un article intéressant )

 

Ok. This subject is truly bizarre and a little bit…delicate? Nonetheless, for tourists, there are certain things you should know. First of all, the “WC”…frankly, when I was in France I never heard this word. Everyone says “les toilettes.”  Sometimes my prof says “le petit coin” (literally: the little corner? And I think this euphemism is pretty cute.)  Today, the most important thing is that “WC” starts with the letter “W.” And it’s in my French dictionary.

Public toilets in France are not like in the US. Here, you can find them everywhere: in every store, mall, gas station…any and everywhere! But in France they are kind of rare. In the cities, sometimes you can find these outhouse-like things called “Sanisettes” on the streets. I have to admit I never went into one. I don’t have a photo of a “Sanisette” and perhaps that is really a good thing.

I prefer to sit on the “terrasse” of a nice café and have a coffee. After that, you can go to the “petit coin.” It’s really the best way. It’s always a good idea to have a cup of coffee or tea. (And by coffee, I mean “un expresso”…but that is another post 🙂 ) Another possibility is to go to the tourism office.  Quite often I found “les toilettes” there, and besides that you can get a lot of cool brochures about the area you’re in !

There are some other differences, too.  In France, I realized that a lot of times “les toilettes” are not free to use. So, it’s important to keep some coins in your pocket “just in case.”  And sometimes you even find “Madame pipi” (translated, I’d say “Restroom attendant.” ) This profession (and it really is a profession there, a job just like any other) is quite rare in the US.  They make sure the restroom is clean and well-equipped.  I saw one of these ladies at the train station in Paris.  She was quite nice. Of course, you have to leave a tip. They do a great job and they deserve it!

Alright then, I have to stop now. The last thing I will say is that the word “WC” is not really a French word. It’s borrowed from the British. In all reality, the letter “W” itself is pretty rare, with most words being borrowed, usually from German or English. (click the link above for an interesting article)

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Si c’était à refaire, qu’est-ce que je ferais de différent ? (If I could do it again, would I do anything differently?)

Euh…non. Les nécessités sont les mêmes dans n’importe quel pays !

Err…no. “Necessities” are the same no matter what country you’re in!

Les petites astuces de votre blogueuse (Tips and tricks from your “Forty, C’est Fantastique” hostess) 🙂

C’est toujours une bonne excuse pour avoir un café. Pourquoi pas ? J’adore le café.

It’s always a good excuse to have a coffee.  And why not? I love coffee 🙂

Et vous, chers lecteurs ? Avez-vous fait des expériences “bizarres” aux toilettes en France ? 

And you, dear readers? Have you had any bizarre experiences with “les toilettes” in France? 

 

 

 

 

 

*Veuillez excuser mes fautes de français ! J’apprends plus en plus chaque jour mais je vais toujours fais faire des erreurs 🙂

7 Responses to “Notre Septembre Inoubliable – Les WC”

  1. Le Génie

    Une grande plongée dans les coulisses de la vie française, on ne peut qu’admirer ton courage car aucun sujet ne te te rebute… :=)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Denise D Hammond

    I do remember seeing those toilettes on the street, but never used one. Paying for toilet use reached a new high in Germany. Almost impossible to find a free one and the attendants must have had previous careers in the Stasi, the East German Secret Police. They were unbelievable!

    @msdeniseh553
    Life After Retirement – My Russian Adventure

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I have to say that all the pay-for toilettes were very clean…not like your standard “public toilet” here in the US. Of course, working on an airplane, I think my standards are all skewed! 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. Mandy

    I think one of the most surprising things about the bathrooms were that many were for both males and females rather than having 2 separate ones. That was … weird.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. evelyneholingue

    J’adore! J’ai du mal maintenant avec les toilettes en France et mes enfants ne comprennent pas pourquoi il faut payer. J’ai des histoires amusantes sur le sujet. Super pour la letter W! A demain alors.

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

