La vie est belle !

Notre Septembre Inoubliable – “Les Rivières”

 Allons-y ! On y va ! C’est parti ! Suivez-moi en France où je vais vous parler d’un mois de septembre inoubliable ! 

Let’s go! Follow me to France where I will tell you about a September to remember!

(To read last year’s post, “R is for Rhône” Click HERE )

Est-ce que nous y sommes allés? (Did we go there?)

Oui, nous avons fait des promenades le long des rivières. À Paris, c’était la Seine. À Lyon, c’était le Rhône et la Saône. À Strasbourg, c’était l’Ill. Ils sont tous fantastiques ! 

Yes, we took many walks along the rivers. In Paris, it was the Seine; in Lyon, it was the Rhône and the Saône. In Strasbourg, it was the Ill. They were all wonderful!

Comment cela s’est-il passé ? (So how was it?)

Alors, dans le train entre Toulon et Lyon, il y avait un couple qui se sont assis en face de nous. J’ai osé parler un peu avec eux. Je crois que mon accent était un peu trop fort, je ne suis pas sûre qu’ils m’aient bien compris, mais ils ont été très gentils quand même.

L’homme, quand je lui ai dit que nous allions à Lyon, il m’a dit une citation en français, “Vous savez, ‘Lyon est une ville arrosée par trois grands fleuves: le Rhône, la Saône et le Beaujolais.’” Et puis, il a souri. Moi aussi, j’ai souri et après, je l’ai traduite à mon mari. J’ai découvert un peu plus tard que c’était une citation de Léon Daudet, l’écrivain et politicien français du 20e siècle. En vérité, je ne suis pas certaine ce qu’il voulait dire sur la ville de Lyon ? Peut-être que j’ai des lecteurs qui peuvent m’expliquer le contexte culturel de cette citation ? C’est difficile (sinon impossible) à comprendre l’âme d’un autre pays.

En tous cas, j’ai beaucoup aimé marcher au bord des rivières ! Je vous déjà dire que ce sont des lieux parfaits pour pique-niquer à Paris au bord de la Seine. Mais il y a aussi de merveilleux “Bouquinistes” ! (Je suis stupide. J’était si enchantée par les bouquinistes que j’ai oublié de prendre des photos d’eux ! ) C’est un vrai plaisir de regarder ces vendeurs avec leurs étals verts, plein de livres, magazines, cartes postales etc. J’ai acheté quelques cartes postales mais je savais qu’il ne me serait pas possible d’avoir trop de livres dans ma valise. Malheureusement ! Cela m’a rendue triste, mais je crois que mon mari n’était pas déçu qu’il n’ait pas dû les rapporter au Colorado ! Il y a beaucoup beaucoup de ponts qui traversent la Seine à Paris.  

Notre appartement à Paris était à deux pas du pont Sully. Nous le traversions donc chaque jour. ” C’était notre pont favori. Mais lors de notre dernière nuit à Paris, nous avons couru rapidement pour attraper le dernier bateau de la nuit des “Vedettes du Pont Neuf.” Nous avons pris des bateaux sur la Seine, la Saône, et l’Ill, mais le bateau des  “Vedettes du Pont Neuf” fut le meilleur. Jen, le guide, a parlé très clairement en français et en anglais. Mon mari était vraiment content !

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, on the train between Toulon and Lyon, there was a couple who sat in front of us and I dared to talk to them a little bit. I think my accent was too strong; I’m not sure they understood me, but they were very nice.

This gentleman, when I said we were going to Lyon, told me a quote in French, “You know,’ Lyon is a city watered by three large rivers: the Rhône, the Saône and the Beaujolais’ “And then he smiled. I smiled too, and then I translated it for my husband. I found out later that it was a quote from Leon Daudet, the 20th century French writer and politician. In truth, I’m not sure what he wanted to say about the city of Lyon? Maybe I have readers who can explain the cultural context of this quote? It is difficult (if not impossible) to understand the “heart and soul” of another country.

Anyway, I loved walking along the rivers! I have already written that next to the Seine is a perfect place for a picnic in Paris. But there are also the wonderful “bouquinistes”!  (And I’m such an idiot…I was so preoccupied with the books that I forgot to take a picture of the bouquinistes!) It is a pleasure to watch these vendors with their green stalls full of books, magazines, postcards and other things. I bought some postcards but I knew it was not possible to take home too many books in my suitcase.  Unfortunately!! It made me sad, but I don’t think my husband was disappointed about not having to carry them all back to Colorado.

 La première fois que j‘ai vu le Rhône, nous étions à Arles. Ce fleuve est immense ! À Lyon, nous avons marché le long du Rhône, et nous avons pris le Bateau sur la Saône (LyonCityBoat).  Les ponts qui traversent la Saône sont charmants et artistiques. À Strasbourg, nous avons pris également un bateau, sur l’Ill, le “Batorama.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first time I saw the Rhone river, we were in Arles. It’s ginormous! In Lyon, we walked along the Rhone, and we also took a boat ride on the Saône (LyonCityBoat). The bridges that cross the Saône are charming and artistic. In Strasbourg, we took a boat ride on the Ill, the “Batorama.”

Si c’était à refaire, qu’est-ce que je ferais de différent? (If I could do it again, would I do anything differently?)

Il y a beaucoup de sentiers le long de la Saône à Lyon, où l’on peut trouver de l’art. Je voudrais y retourner pour faire des promenades.

There are a lot more trails along the Saône in Lyon, where you can find all different kinds of art. I’d like to go back there and do some more of them.

Les petites astuces de votre blogueuse (Tips and tricks from your “Forty, C’est Fantastique” hostess) 🙂

Prenez le temps pour marché le long des rivières. J’ai trouvé des choses intéressantes sur ces sentiers,  de l’art, des vendeurs, des passants, et des bancs pour s’asseoir et réfléchir.

Go ahead and take the time to walk along the rivers. I found lots of interesting things on these walks, art, vendors, interesting passers-by, and of course benches where you can sit and think, or dream.

Et vous, chers lecteurs ? Avez-vous des bons souvenirs d’une rivière ? 

And you, dear readers? Do you have any wonderful memories on a river?

 

 

 

 

 

*Veuillez excuser mes fautes de français ! J’apprends plus en plus chaque jour mais je vais toujours fais faire des erreurs 🙂

14 Responses to “Notre Septembre Inoubliable – “Les Rivières””

  1. Darla M Sands

    It is fascinating how much culture flavors language. Thank you for another beautiful post. And thank you for visiting my blog. My heart goes out to you for the loss of your cat while your kind words comforted me. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. evelyneholingue

    J’ai emmené mes enfants sur les bateaux mouche sur la Seine et ils ont adoré. Ils ont peu voir l’appartement de leur papa quand il était étudiant. Les vedettes permettent de découvrir un autre aspect de Paris au pas plus lent que le métro.
    Mon pont favori est le Pont Alexandre III pour son architecture et le Pont des Arts pour sa localisation. Et j’adore les bouquinistes de Notre Dame et du Quartier Latin.
    Joli billet. A demain!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Denise D Hammond

    When one of my sons was 16, he and I went to Niagara Falls and he convinced me to go jet-rafting through the Niagara River rapids. Definitely a river to remember.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Ooh! I love Niagara, but I am not so brave as you and prefer to look at it from the land 🙂 Sounds like an amazing adventure!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Courtney Turner (@mauijungalow)

    Not sure of my French here – we took a canal boat in Paris and sat in the back, could not hear the translator well enough and he wasn’t that good… so we didn’t know the significance of what we saw, but c’etait beau. I’m enjoying your French and English translations.
    Maui Jungalow

    Like

    Reply
  5. le Génios

    Très Joli post K. !!
    L’âme d’une ville est parfois aussi dans la rivière qui la traverse…
    En tous cas, tu nous emmènes au fil de l’eau de ton voyage….

    Like

    Reply
  6. Sammy D.

    I don’t know about the quote, but ‘watered by three large rivers’ might have an unusual meaning (??)

    I think we are unaware in daily lives – especially arid places like Colorado – how important waterways have always been, and still are for transit as well as drinking sources. I remember being amazed when we toured Chicago by boat to see how the rivers crossed that city, and I know there are others in the East like that. The European waterways have proven just as enchanting. I’m glad you were able to feature that aspect in today’s post.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Yes, you’re right, Sammy, being from the “high desert” of Northern NM and Colorado, we don’t really get a sense of the importance of these waterways. Having a boat in Colorado just means you put it on a trailer and go out to Pueblo reservoir periodically!

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

