La vie est belle !

SoCS — Le Jour où…

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”  — Click and read, click and join in!  Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “-jour-“: add a prefix or suffix to complete it or use it as the French word for “day.” Have fun!

D’accord ! So, “jour” is indeed the French word for “day.” There are quite a few English words which at least kind of contain it! True to the spirit of SoCS, I will just write all the ones I can think of off the top of my head:

Soup (or whatever!)  du jour

Journal

Journalist

Journey

Journeyman

Sojourn

Adjourn

As for the French, (oh Linda, don’t you know that the tiny little part of my brain containing  French hurts with this A to Z stuff? Whose bright idea was it for me to attempt to write A to Z in French??? Oh yeah. That was me. D’oh!) 

Anyway, I do like the way the French use “Bonjour” or “Bonsoir” on arrival in a shop, for instance. It’s just expected, there! It’s impolite to not do that. Here, it’s something you don’t find too often, but it’s something I’ve tried to bring home with me and do when I go in a business. Just say hello to whoever is behind the counter or whatever. They usually smile, sometimes surprised, sometimes not, but it generally seems as though they like it!  The French also say “Bonne journée”  or “Bonne soirée” when they are leaving…like “Thanks, have a good day!”  Even if you don’t buy anything, it’s so much more polite than just leaving. And of course, it’s awesome that they have two different words for the arrival and departure.

Anyway, le jour où… means “the day when…” so,

The day when…I started my journey to a second language, I dreamed.

I dreamed of the day when I could go to another country and dare to speak.

The day when I first dared to make a fool of myself by recording my American accent

and putting it on the the web for tout le monde to critique… That was

Le jour où I lost some of my fear, le jour où I gained some confidence over my shyness,

That was le jour où I learned much more that a few words en français.

C’était le jour où I began to OWN being forty-ish,

C’était le jour où j’ai commencé to be a little more outgoing, a little more fearless,

C’était le jour où j’ai trouvé des nouveaux amis who lived all the way across the world!

C’était le jour où le monde a devenu un plus moins grand,

Le jour où je me suis rendu compte qu’il y aura bientôt beaucoup plus de livres pour moi!

Le jour où j’ai découvert un nouveau magie…

 

 

11 Responses to “SoCS — Le Jour où…”

  1. Deborah Drucker

    You lost me a little at the end but I admire that you are able to write in French. I loved it when I walked into a French restaurant in Santa Barbara, Michel Richard’ s Citronelle and the matre de said, “Bon Soir, madame,” it sounded so elegant.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hope Floats

    I love the mix of French and English, it makes me miss my Parisian friend who would speak a mile a minute and combine her languages. Honestly, Parisian French is such a beautiful language. Even in print.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Le Génie

    C’est le jour de… des petits mots qui se retrouvent dans les conversations quotidiennes…Bonne nuit à toi

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

