La vie est belle !

Poème de Duolingo

Bonjour mes chers lecteurs,

You know, in learning a language, one of the most important things for me has been repetition. There are many ways to do repetition, and they all have their good and bad qualities, but one that I kind of like is the App called “Duolingo.” It divides vocabulary and grammar into sensibly-sized chunks and creates a sort of game out of drilling on each vocabulary list or grammar point. It’s not great on in-depth explanations, and although you get a chance to “record” yourself saying the phrases, I wouldn’t say it’s a good way to learn how to really speak the language. What it is great at is repetition. It uses some sort of algorithm to determine the optimum number of times you need to see a word or phrase in order to retain it, and it gives you reminders to “play the game” often enough to improve your retention of the words.

Anyway, I’m not here to advertise the app. Rather, I have been getting a kick out of some of the sentences or phrases that they use. I’ve written a bunch of them down randomly, and recently I decided to put some of them together as a poème.  These are  copied verbatim from the app; I just put them in a particular order. Très bizarre, non?

 

 

 

IMG_3121

 

C’est une histoire triste.

Une histoire de trahison, de l’amitié perdue, de tristesse…

Une histoire douloureuse.  Pourquoi l’a-t-il laissée ?

Qu’est-ce qu’elle a fait ?

Est-ce qu’il va revenir ?

Est-ce qu’elle va l’accepter ?  

À vous de décider ! 

And a translation:

I’m going to cry.

For reasons that I don’t understand,

He doesn’t want to talk to me.

He wears a mask. 

I’m going to cry.

I put my hand on his shoulder.

“Beauty comes from within.

I can’t leave you alone.”

“Leave me alone! Listen when I speak!”

And I put my hand on his shoulder.

“I’m going to miss you so much.

Friendship is a safe bet.”

“This is never going to be over.”

“I don’t need an explanation.

I’m going to miss you so much.”

“Do what you want, my friend.

The conversation is finished!”

“I want to be loved for who I am.”

“Our fate depends on our decisions.

Do what you want, my friend.”

 

3 Responses to “Poème de Duolingo”

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

