La vie est belle !

JusJoJan–Quel est votre numéro de téléphone?

This post is part of Linda G Hill's "JusJoJan" ! Click and join!

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “JusJoJan” ! Click and join!

 This post is part of JusJoJan: http://lindaghill.com/2015/01/01/just-jot-it-january-pingback-post-and-rules/  Anyone can join in!

Well, it’s the last day for the ” ‘rithmetic” prompt on “JusJoJan.”  I haven’t posted every day of January, so even though it is technically “Day 20″ I haven’t even come close to making 20 posts. However…”JusJoJan” does not say to *post* every day, just to *jot* every day. I have indeed jotted something every day, even if it’s just my normal work stuff. I have also jotted little paragraphs and homework in my French journal, I’ve “jotted” notes at church, I’ve “Jotted” grocery lists, I’ve “jotted” ideas for the rapidly approaching “A to Z April Challenge“…

Anyway, forgive me if I’ve posted this link before, but I somehow never get tired of this!

Calling someone could be a problem in France. So could buying something, or asking how much something is. The problem is that the French don’t count the same way we do in the US or in England. The French haven’t invented a word that means “seventy” (But there is a French word for “seventy” among the Swiss.)  You have to say literally “sixty-ten.”  So here is a great video on this subject by “Numberphile”! It’s in English so it could be a great exercise for my French-speaking, English-learning amis 🙂

Appeler quelqu’un, acheter quelque chose, demander le coût de quelque chose, ce serait un problème en France. Le problème est que les Français ne comptent pas comme nous aux États-Unis ou en Angleterre. Les Français n’a pas inventé un seul mot pour “seventy” (mais il y en a un en Suisse 🙂 )  On dit “soixante-dix.” Et voilà une super vidéo à ce sujet par “Numberphile.” C’est en anglais, donc ce serait un bon exercice pour les francophones! 

11 Responses to “JusJoJan–Quel est votre numéro de téléphone?”

  1. Deborah Drucker

    Very interesting post on numbers. And when in Numberphile he started talking about phone numbers and commas I thought, “tabernacle”, I would have a hard time with that. 🙂 I have been dying to use the word tabernacle ever since I saw it in a Louise Penny novel. A French Canadian swear word. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      • Deborah Drucker

        I will have to check out the link. When I started reading Louise Penny’s books I saw these different expressions. She writes mysteries that are set in Quebec. So through her I have become familiar with some of the culture and mannerisms of the people. Je ne sais quoi. I don’t know why I get a kick out of some of the exclamatory remarks the characters make sometimes. Tabernacle or tabernac is one of them. I had to look it up. And yes her novels are in English. 🙂 Gros mot is swear word I assume. I hope it was not too gross. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
      • Deborah Drucker

        Gads I just read the link. I guess it is pretty gros. But it is in the books I have read and it is a French Canadian police detective who is using the expletive which I think would be appropriate. How embarrassing for that author to have it in a children’s book. But oh well, children do hear the F word and survive, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Le Génie

    Désolé, que la numérotation française produise un tel buzz et cela me fait réfléchir sur notre système…. je ne sais pas si ce que je vais dire est la véritable raison de cette singularité mais je me lance…
    Je pense qu’il y a une base de nombres semblable aux nombres latins et un compte basé sur le système décimal (compte par dix) comme soixante-dix…
    Le “point” marque la fin absolue de quelque chose, alors la virgule semble logique. Et si on ne privilie pas la vitesse pour un nombre après la virgule, on préfèrera le nombre global (plutôt qu’une suite de chiffres), la french touch en somme haha…

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

