La vie est belle !

SoCS – Memories…

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

 

This post is part of Linda G Hill’s “Stream of Consciousness Saturday”

Ahh, memories.  I would have liked to write this stream-of-conciousness about something sweet, like memories of my family, or memories from our recent trip, but no. What is currently “streaming” through my consciousness is the fact that my MacBook is having “issues.”

A few months ago, my hard drive DIED.  As in absolutely, irretrievably DEAD.  It made a sound like a ping-pong ball, and then rolled over and never woke up again.  I took my computer to the “Genius” bar where they told me I could spend several thousand dollars to send my hard drive to a “guy” in California who had a slim chance of retrieving my data in his special “clean room”, but that also, I had to buy a new hard drive. By the way, Apple no longer makes a hard drive as small as the one which died. So I accepted the loss of several precious memories, particularly some photos including my dad before Alzheimer’s disease really began to destroy his “hard-drive” in earnest.  Those are the ones I regret losing the most, because now, each time I see him or talk to him, I am afraid it will be the last time he recognizes me.  I am less stupid now, and I back up my data regularly.  They say there are two types of people in the world: Those who make regular back-ups, and those who will make back-ups after losing their data.  So now I am the first type.

Today, I have another appointment at the “Genius bar.”  Ever since I got the new hard drive, my MacBook has been eating every byte of bandwidth in our house. If my computer is on, the internet slows to a crawl. And I mean, like you can’t even check emails or anything. I have tried checking the Activity Monitor, and shutting down all activity, but it doesn’t seem to help. Turning my computer off makes the internet fast for all the other “i-things” in the house, but having my computer shut down really makes it hard to use.
The movie we watched last night was “Edge of Tomorrow.”  If you haven’t seen this, I recommend it, especially if you like science fiction.  And if you like Tom Cruise.  If you don’t like Tom Cruise, watch it anyway.  You’ll get to see Tom Cruise’s character die like, a hundred times. I don’t want to give away the plot, but it has to do with memory also, and the idea of being able to somehow “reset” a part of it.

Ooops, my SoC got interrupted by the Genius Bar appointment. The diagnosis was…ta-da! Nothing.  (Must be my home network’s fault, even though it is only the Macbook which affects the speed, never mind that! ) The guy re-set my network settings, so when I get home I will have to re-sign onto my house wi-fi and I will be installing the newest version of Mac OS X. And if that doesn’t work…we have to (shudder) re-format the thing. But the strange thing about computers is that they can be totally re-set but retain their memories elsewhere for “restoring.”  People can’t do that. I wish I had a back-up of my dad’s memories for him.

11 Responses to “SoCS – Memories…”

  1. alexischiuling

    Oops. Looks like I fall under the third group you did not mention: those who lost their data, and still do not back up. Sorry to hear about your dad…but I am sure you are making the most out of your time with him now, and I guess that’s what matters the most — cherishing our loved ones while we still can.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sammy D.

    Arghhhh I feel your pain (and will someday, no doubt, regret that I’m not as diligent as I should be about back ups). My I-Pad has not been working correctly ever since I downloaded the newest operating software (and Apple is denying that’s the reason altho’ I’ve read plenty of expert reviews that say it is), and my full-blown computer FROZE UP as I tried to type this comment!!
    Gremlins at work everywhere. I have been putting off my own Genius Bar visits, but the day looms.

    Hope you felt better after getting it written. Good job!

    Like

    Reply
  3. John Holton

    I’ve learned the hard way like you have about backing up my data. I now have a 3 TB external hard drive and run Time Machine all the time. Sorry about the pictures of your dad…

    Like

    Reply
  4. LindaGHill

    Great post, my dear. It really is too bad we can’t back-up our loved-ones’ memories. But after hearing of your hard-drive difficulties, I’ll definitely be backing up my own work. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. shanjeniah

    You can still be your dad’s daughter, though….and you’ve learned something valuable.

    More- you’ve got the most precious thing there is. Now.

    This is a lovely and sad post. I will remember it.

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

