La vie est belle !

Time – SoCS

Badge by Doobster at Mindful Digressions

Badge by Doobster at Mindful Digressions

When I read this prompt, all I could think of was this old “Twilight Zone” episode…I’m sure many of you know it…”Time Enough at Last.”  I cry every time I see it. If you haven’t, here is the link. It takes about 25 minutes of your time.

 

 

Time is a constraint, it keeps us on a leash, it is a one-way street. There’s seemingly never enough time to do the things we enjoy, and when we are doing chores, it crawls by as if to stop. But it doesn’t stop, it doesn’t slow. It’s just our perception.  William Penn has been quoted as saying “Time is what we want most but what we use worst.” I agree with that. Often, I see some time in my schedule, and I think, “Oh, that is when I could…” and then that block of time arrives and passes, and that thing I meant to do during that period is still undone. What happens? I get sidetracked reading a book or perusing blogs, or “arranging” stuff, or just “looking up that one thing on the internet.”  I find that the internet is indeed the cause of time loss in many cases. It’s enticing, tempting, it’s like a box of chocolates, (as Forrest Gump would say), because you never know what you’re going to get. Pinterest, YouTube, WordPress, the list goes on and on…

I have this blog, here, and I am a little bit addicted to it; I like to post things because it’s exhilarating to make connections with people in this way, to hopefully be a bright spot in someone’s day, and to feel appreciated for my humble thoughts. Yes, it’s like chocolate!  I love reading all the blogs I follow, finding great writers “out there” with whom I can actually interact, it’s amazing! I find ideas, poetry, yes, friends, “here” (whatever “here” really means), but I also have people who are actually “here” and who need “actual” attention (as opposed to “virtual” attention).  But the cool part, now, is that I sometimes get to mix “virtual here” and “actual here.”  In fact, when we visit France, I will see some people there “en chair et en os”  (in the flesh) that until now I have only known through the internet. It is its own kind of magic, really.

As if Skype wasn’t magic enough!  Speaking of Skype, and of time, Skype is like time travel in a way. How is it possible to talk to (and even see) someone several time zones away as if they were right in my living room? Even ten years ago I wouldn’t have dreamed of this. And when I was young? No way. I loved “Back to the Future,” “Quantum Leap,” and all sorts of time travel stories, but I had no idea what would be available in just a few short years. In reality, we are all time travelers, but we don’t have a “flux capacitor.”  We can only travel at the speed of time, and we can only go forward, never go back, and never stop. That being the case, I just want to see as much as I can of the wonderful things God has put here for us. My quote for “one-liner Wednesday” this week, from G.K. Chesterton, said that a traveler sees what he sees, but a tourist sees what he came to see. Linda wondered which was better? I’m not sure either, but I hope to do both in my journey across time!

 

This post is part of SoCS. Find this week’s prompt here and join in!http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-august-1614/

20 Responses to “Time – SoCS”

  1. SomeKernelsOfTruth

    Beautiful concepts! I especially liked where you wrote: “I just want to see as much as I can of the wonderful things God has put here for us.” I do too! Oh and I also loved Quantum Leap as a kid! I’ve always wished we could time travel physically, both back in time and into the future, although one of my friends said back in time would not be pleasant since day-to-day life was harder then. But I’d still want to…see, these are the things I spend my time thinking about! Oh, and the Internet…definitely another time vortex happens for me on it, too! Anyway, great post!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sammy D.

    Kelli – we just got home from Golden Gate State Park where we watched a lovely sunset, speaking of watching time slip away. I had not seen this Twilight Zine episode and it is very, very sad. The poor guy didn’t waste time as much as he let that awful wife usurp it. And I know what it’s like to be blind without glasses – I think that’s why my reading has taken on such a voracious urgency – because my eyesight will go before my time does! But In spite of these sad feelings, I enjoyed your post, and I certainly try to be aware of the quality of how I spend my time.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I think watching a sunset is a wonderful way to watch time 🙂 Sorry the Twilight Zone is so sad. Isn’t the wife horrible?!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Celine Jeanjean

    That quote from William Penn is so incredibly true. I heard another quote which is: “the days are long but the years are short”. That feeling that you can always push stuff back for later, and then suddenly a year has just flown by and so much stuff you wanted to accomplish still lies unfinished.

    By the way I love the new blog layout! The colour scheme in particular goes so well with the background…..

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks! I like the layout so far, although there may be a couple others I will try “just to see ” 🙂
      I like that quote about the years too. Yes, all of a sudden…happens a lot, even more so as I get older!

      Like

      Reply
  4. shanjeniah

    The internet amazes me. My daughter can spend hours on Skype, baking, sewing, gaming, creating, and just being with her best friend – who happens to live a state and a five-hour drive from us.

    Miraculous, that they can sit together and do the things 10 year old girls do together.

    I tend to try to take joy in whatever I’m going, and not to see anything as a waste of time if it feeds something within me. =D

    And, although I liked Quantum Leap, I was always bothered by the way they messed with history- there could be nasty repercussions, there…Personally, I think Scott Bakula was better as a time traveling starship captain trying NOT to mess things up….but then, I have a strong Trek bias!

    My sister’s ex-husband has a DeLorean he bought on EBay (sans flux capacitor, sadly). The plate reads, “TIMECAR”

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      That’s so cool that your daughter and her friend use Skype to do “ordinary girl stuff” together when they are so far apart. It really is magic!
      As for QL…well, I made myself think that whatever “changes” he made wouldn’t have repercussions because they had already happened and therefore somehow “needed” to happen…aarrgh. That’s the trouble with time travel, and it’s why I love reading about it so much 🙂 I find Scott Bakula charming no matter what role he’s in. I liked him in “Chuck” too 🙂

      You might tell your friend that he can make a flux capacitor for his car…I found this site thanks to my husband who has taken a recent interest in building odd mechanical/electrical/robotic stuff…
      http://www.myfluxcapacitor.com

      Because to truly be cool, his car needs a flux capacitor. Ok, I admit, it would still be cool without, but how much better to start it up and say to the casual right side passenger,
      “Flux capacitor…fluxing!” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • shanjeniah

        It really is magical. We go to our friends’ home a few times a year, but those Skype chats keep the girls connected in the meantime, and let them really enjoy bonding in the ways that mean the most to them.

        I missed Scott Bakula in Chuck. I watched mos of he first season, and then lost track of it. I’ll put it on my list of series to catch up on!

        I’ll pass on the info about the flux capacitor, because you’re right. That’s pretty cool! =)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

