La vie est belle !

Getting Away – SoCS

This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-1214/

Sunset

Getting away…well I almost let Saturday “get away” without making a little SoCS post! I love this prompt, so I’m not going to do let that happen 🙂  But it’s going to be a quick one. I think of traveling and vacations when I hear “getting away.”

In my line of work I “get away” all the time, but that’s just because my office is extremely portable. So it really isn’t a “getaway.” A “getaway” means something that is not in my normal daily routine! For me, that means no hotels. I really don’t like hotels. I wake up in a hotel, and my first thought is not “Hey! I must be on vacation!” My first thought is, “What time is the airport shuttle? Is my plane on time? Is the weather good? Where am I? Where am I going?? ”  and most importantly, “Is there any coffee?”

Therefore, I spent yesterday morning completing my reservation of places to stay during our upcoming séjour in France. Un appartement à Paris, un autre appartement à Lyon, un gîte en Bourgogne… definitely no hotels. It’s how we (and I say “we” on behalf of my husband, because he doesn’t get to choose 😉 ) like to travel. B&B’s are great, too, because you get to talk to the hosts for the best local places and secrets, and you always meet interesting fellow travelers at the breakfast table.

Getting away means breaking the routine, seeing something different, experiencing something new. Whether it’s just a weekend  (and we love to do those on the “spur of the moment”)  or a grand voyage like we are planning to do in France, it refreshes your mind, and changes your outlook!

17 Responses to “Getting Away – SoCS”

  1. The Armchair Squid

    I’ve done the big trips – two years in Japan being the biggest – but I agree that meaningful adventures can happen on the smaller scale, too. Sometimes, it’s just the conscious choice to stay on the couch with a book all day. We all need an occasional break from the ordinary.

    Have fun in France, though!

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Wow two years in Japan! Awesome! But yes, even sitting on ones own deck with a great book can be a getaway:-) I’m sure that our trip to France will be magnifique !

      Like

      Reply
  2. SomeKernelsOfTruth

    Fun read! I understand your point about the questions that come to mind when traveling versus feeling relaxed, particularly the one about coffee; as a fellow coffee lover, I can relate! The comedian Jim Gaffigan wrote something like this in his book: “Most trips have that moment of waking up in a strange, uncomfortable bed and asking yourself, “’Now how do I get coffee?’” Before reading that and your post, I thought I was the only one who had that as their first thought instead of, “Wow, vacation!” 🙂 Great post!

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks! Yep, that’s my first thought, my second is, “is there any good coffee or just the garbage served by the hotel?” Although plenty of days at 4am I’ve happily accepted that. It’s a little known fact that jets do not really run on jet fuel. They run on coffee!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Hope Floats

    My sister did a tour of Europe and France and she said it was beautiful. She did stay at a hotel not far from the Tower, but said next time she’d stay in a B&B. More relaxing and casual. It sounds like an amazing get away!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Mélanie

    où en France, please?… will you get in our pittoresque région Midi-Pyrénées, as well?!… 😉 if so, lemme know and keep me posted, SVP! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Sadly, not this time…France is too big to experience in only 4 weeks, so we’ve chosen 4 areas to visit. You can see on my A to Z posts some of my dreams for our trip 🙂 next time we will see your region for sure! I know we will take more than one trip to France! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Mélanie

        aha, mille merci! got it – compris… 🙂 tu sais où j’habite: Toulouse aka la ville rose-brique aka the European capital of space and aviation(Airbus city)… as a pilot, je pense you’d be interested to visit Airbus… last but not least: we live 4km away from the airfield where Saint-Exupéry used to take off and to land until August 1944 when he vanished into the Mediterranean, off Corsica.

        Like

        Reply
        • jetgirlcos

          Oh, yes, that would be très intéressant to see M. Saint-Exupéry’s airfield! Look at me planning my next trip to France and I haven’t even gone on the first one yet!! C’est fou, n’est-ce pas ?

          Like

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

