La vie est belle !

Happy Father’s Day

How far is the Eye Chart

“How far is the Eye Chart” by sfloptometry is licensed under CC- BY 2.0

 

My sunglasses keep slipping down my nose,

My dad could fix that.

I loved to go to his office and see how he worked.

I’ll call my dad tomorrow.

I saw a robin light on a fencepost today.

My dad would know this bird.

He knew so many birds from those pretty books,

I couldn’t remember their names, but he did.

I’ll call my dad tomorrow.

I took a walk today; I walked pretty fast,but

My dad would walk faster!

I got my walking pace from him,

When we walked the perimeter of the golf course, collecting lost balls.

I’ll call my dad tomorrow.

I heard a funny joke,

I know my dad would laugh,

I love the way his blue eyes crinkle up when he laughs

And everyone can hear him.

I’ll call my dad tomorrow.

I had to memorize another password today.

My dad could memorize anything and remember it forever…

or not forever…

I’ll call my dad tomorrow,

And I pray for him to recognize my voice and

Call me “punkin.”

 

 

I want to say a special thanks to Oliana at Traces of the Soul for being so encouraging to me; that I can write just a little bit on this topic, which is difficult for me. My father suffers from dementia, and my family is learning to cope with the fears associated with all the unknowns which accompany this devastating disease. 

6 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day”

  1. Sammy D.

    Kelli – such a loving tribute; I’m sure your family finds solace in your message. My prayers are with you and your family in this part of your father’s journey.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jennifer G. Knoblock

    Wonderful loving poem. I lost my dad 14 years ago, so hard sometimes to remember the good times when things have changed, but comforting too…

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

