La vie est belle !

Read…read…red (SoCS)

This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-1414/

You must read this out loud:

Q: “What’s black and white and read (Past tense) all over?”

A: “A newspaper.”

Ha ha…that’s the first joke I remember hearing (and remembering) in my life. My mom told me this when I was pretty young. Aha! It’s her fault that I like puns! (sorry sweet husband, I was practically *born* liking puns…you have to love that about me because you, um…don’t get a choice ๐Ÿ™‚ <3)

My mom also taught me to read when I was 4 years old. Yay! I think my earliest memories involve watching my mom read. That’s why I wanted to do it myself from my earliest memories. Her tactic worked. I believed that reading was so cool! In my kindergarten class I was the only one who could read, and then later on in elementary school I got myself into the “gold” reading group because I read “above grade level.” I was one of those geeks who loved the old “SRA cards” because I could fly through them at my own pace. ย And then there was that machine that was something like a filmstrip projector which showed one word at a time and scrolled across a sentence. It kept speeding up until it was showing phrases or short sentences at a time as it scrolled across. The idea was to work up to as fast as you could go and still maintain comprehension, which was measured by short quizzes after reading each sample. All these reading exercises I remember from maybe 3rd or 4th grade. I think maybe even earlier than that, but I loved these. I was terrible at math but reading was and is definitely my thing.

I love crosswords and other word games, jokes which depend on wordplay, origins of words, words in other languages (particularly French ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), grammar, etc…

Yes, I was a kid who sometimes got in trouble for reading when I should be doing something else (like chores). Oh wait. I still get in “trouble” for that. Guess I’ve just been caught “red-handed.” ๐Ÿ™‚

 

*This weekโ€™s prompt will be slightly more of a challenge, should you choose to accept. Your prompt is to include the word read (present tense), read (past tense) or red. The extra challenge? Publish without reading. Just do your best while you write, then make a really squinty face and pluck up the courage to hit that button. If youโ€™re brave enough to do it, make sure you tell us youโ€™re going to at the end of your post.

Ok, Linda…here goes…not reading it….hitting “publish”….NOW!

15 Responses to “Read…read…red (SoCS)”

  1. LindaGHill

    Nicely done! That was one of my first jokes as well. How about this one?
    What is big, has four wheels and flies in the summer?

    Let me know if you get it (if you haven’t heard it before) or when you give up.

    I was an early reader too. Seems we have a lot in common. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for taking part in the extra challenge this week! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    Reply
      • Sammy D.

        No doubt your book had a red cover ๐Ÿ™‚

        One of my memories of clashes with Mom was her insistence that my sister and I clean the house on Saturday morning when all I wanted to do was read. I begged to read first and clean later, but she was so rigid it took all the fun out of that day’s reading anticipation. Of course I understand it from her point of view years later, but it still rankles. I relish being able to postpone virtually everything now for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        Reply
  2. Doobster418

    I heard that the answer to the question, “What’s black and white and red all over?” was…are you ready for this? An embarrassed zebra!

    Like

    Reply
  3. tnkerr

    I think you did an awesome job and, I know the answer to the new riddle about 4 wheels and flies! If you want me to tell you simply leave a million dollars in a paper bag by the fountain in the park!

    LOL

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

