La vie est belle !

Y is for Yonne

 

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 Y is for “Yonne” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Yonne is one of the four departments of the Burgundy region of France. I know it’s impossible to see the entire region in a week or a week and a half, but we are definitely going to at least part of this area. I wrote in my “V” post about the town of Vézelay, which is located in this department. This is the part of our trip where I intend to rent a car, so I nominate Yonne as a potential location for our “pneu crevé en France” (flat tire in France).  (see this post for why I expect this to happen) If I actually *plan* to have a flat tire, then it won’t happen, right? I think the first thing I will do after renting said car is to very thoroughly inspect all the tires, including the roue de secours (spare tire) *side note: I love the French word for this…it’s more literally translated “emergency tire” and isn’t that really more descriptive? The second thing I will do is take a picture of my dear sweet husband posing with the roue de secours.  It’s kind of a  “thing” now 🙂

 

.
Where is it? Où est-ce?

It’s in the Northwest part of the Burgundy region of France.

 

Carte de l'Yonne.svg
Carte de l’Yonne” by LeMorvandiauOwn work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

 

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

Since we will have a car and some good shoes, it looks like there are plenty of “routes” that we can follow to discover things like castles, churches, cuisines, wines, art… I found a whole website full of great things to see in this area!

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ?

Have you done much driving in France? How are the roads? Was it hard to find your way around, or was it easy to navigate?

Dites-moi ! 

16 Responses to “Y is for Yonne”

  1. LindaGHill

    All I remember about driving in France was that there seemed to be no rules on the roads and the taxi drivers were nuts! But then, I was too young to drive myself, so what did I know? 😛

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

