La vie est belle !

P is for les Portes de Flavigny-sur-Ozerain

 

 

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 P is for “Les Portes de Flavigny-sur-Ozerain” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

I will admit that I may be stretching the limit of A to Z here, but I really do want to visit the medieval village of Flavigny-sur-Ozerain. It was a fortified village during the Middle Ages and there are two gates or Portes that are still visible, as well as large portions of the wall which surrounded it in the 12th and 13th centuries. So that’s one “P” I have on my list. It is listed as one of the “Plus Beaux Villages de France” (most beautiful villages of France) and was the setting of the movie Chocolat” which starred Johnny Depp and Juliette Binoche. This was a beautiful movie, and quite frankly, it’s how I discovered this village. As long as I’m talking about candy, I found out that Flavigny is also famous for producing Les Anis de Flavigny, which are small Pastilles made with the seeds of the Pimpinella anisum (green anise, anis verte). I happen to be a huge fan of anything anise-flavored, so I have added this to my list of must-dos.  In addition, because of these candies, the village has been included as a site remarquable du goût”  or “place noted for outstanding produce”

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

Flavigny-sur-Ozerain is located in the Côte d’Or department of the Burgundy region of France.

Flavigny-sur-Ozerain

By Christophe.Finot (wikipedia.fr) [CC-BY-SA-1.0 , via Wikimedia Commons

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

Part of the reason I chose Bourgogne as a destination was to drive around and see medieval villages, and this one holds particular appeal, (I will admit it) because of the film “Chocolat”  There is also the Abbey which is still home to the monks who produce Les Anis de Flavigny from their age-old recipe 🙂

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ?

Have you seen the movie? Been to the town? Do you love all things Anise? Dites-moi ! 

 

P.S.  Joyeuses Pâques à tout le monde ! (Happy Easter, everyone!)

3 Responses to “P is for les Portes de Flavigny-sur-Ozerain”

  1. Sammy D.

    I loved the movie Chocolat – more than once! You are so fortunate to be visiting the town. Anise is a candy I like but I don’t know many who do. What a fun post – many treats. A joyous Easter to you and your loved ones.

    Like

    Reply
  2. lisabuiecollard

    I loved the book and the movie Chocolat, but liked the ending better in the movie. Those are some MASSIVE tower gates there! Wow, Bordeaux has four gates still standing and incorporated into the town now and they are lovely. Your trip is going to be one of a lifetime if you get to see all that you’re posting about on this blog!!! Bonne chance, et bon voyage!!! Merci d’etre venu sur mon blog!

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

