La vie est belle !

L is for Lausanne

 

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 L is for “Lausanne” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

I imagine you are all scratching your heads and thinking “Lausanne is not in France!”  Yes, that is correct. Lausanne is a city in Switzerland. But this will still be on “Our trip to France” and since it’s on the same trip, I don’t think it’s cheating on my theme.

I am planning just a few days here, just enough to meet a friend and to get a little glimpse of Switzerland, because I think it seems like an amazing country. It’s definitely on my list of places I want to explore further in the future! I have discovered the blog of Halley Gentil  through A to Z, and she writes all about Switzerland, which makes me want to go there even more!

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

Lausanne is near the French border, a little less than 40 miles NE of Geneva, sitting on the shores of Lac Léman (Lake Geneva). It is in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. 

Lausanne

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

First of all, I have a super nice correspondent who lives there, and I’d like to meet her! She tells me lots of nice things about where she lives. Plus, it’s not too long of a train ride from Dijon, where we will be spending some time. Since we’ll go only for a couple days, just enough to make us want to go back and spend more time, I really have no idea what we will see there. From reading, I can see that it is a city full of museums, beautiful architecture, nice views of the Alps, great opportunities for walking on the shores of Lake Geneva…and I am willing to bet there could be a cheese fondue in our future there too.

Interesting tidbit: Lausanne is home to the headquarters for the International Olympic Committee, and my city is home to the US Olympic Committee headquarters and main Training Center. 

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ?

Have you visited this city? What are your favorite sights/things to do here?  Dites-moi ! 

14 Responses to “L is for Lausanne”

  1. Françoise

    That’s a nice comment and Alain and I will do the best to let you appreciate our area. Of course, we will make a great fondue for your arrival and open a good bottle ! Looking forward meeting you and David !

    Like

    Reply
  2. natalie

    I found your blog through Tina’s. Question: What kind of plane do you fly? And, hopefully, I will go to France again, but one place I want to visit is the Russian Orthodox cemetery in Paris where poor Natasha Romanov was buried, Michael’s wife, who lived in Paris and had a very hard end, no money, ill with cancer. But the Russian community gathered some money and had her buried there. Sad.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      It’s just a little Canadian-made jet with either 50 or 70 seats 🙂 (The CRJ) Yes, cemeteries are so full of history! Thanks for visiting!

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

