La vie est belle !

J is for un Jardin et un Jambon-beurre

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 J is for “Un Jardin et un Jambon-beurre” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Ok. Obviously there are beaucoup de beaux jardins (lots of beautiful gardens) in France. I have a beautiful little book called “Quiet Corners of Paris” and I think I’ll try and find some of them. But I’m going to depart from “J” a little bit. I’m not just interested in formal  “gardens”, but also parks and other outdoor spaces with beautiful views. My husband and I adore hiking, and from the reading I’ve been doing, Je crois que (I believe that) we will be able to enjoy a nice jambon-beurre (French-style sandwich with ham and butter…gosh, that sounds so much better in French!) and a beautiful view at the same time. So I think I’d like to “plan” that. I want to be careful not to plan too much, because (as I regress to the letter “I” ) it is often les choses Inattendues qui arrivent  (unexpected things which happen) that make the best memories. So today’s post is a little bit vague, I guess, because I want to leave some moments for these things.

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

Everywhere and anywhere! But I do like the idea of wandering around le Jardin du Luxembourg  in Paris, and le Jardin des Plantes, le Jardin Tino Rossi (Musée de la sculpture en plein air avec des musiciens le soir) and le Bois de Boulogne (huge park near Paris). My “overall” plan includes four régions, each with various possible randonnées (hikes).  A pique-nique on the Mediterranean, a day hiking,  a glimpse of the French Alps as we explore the Isère région...pourquoi pas ? (why not?) Wandering in a medieval village of Bourgogne…the possibilities are endless!

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

I think these will be some bons souvenirs of our trip, not too planned out, but almost par hasard (by chance). I know that on many trips that we’ve taken, it has been the things that we didn’t plan that turned out to be the things we treasured the most later on.

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ?

In your opinion, what is the best place in France to sit outside and peacefully enjoy a jambon-beurre ? Where did you find the best example of this simple sandwich?

Alors à demain, chers lecteurs ! See you tomorrow!

12 Responses to “J is for un Jardin et un Jambon-beurre”

  1. Elizabeth Hein

    One of my fondest memories of our trips to France is of sitting in the gardens at Chateau d’ Chambord eating “car sandwiches” – a split baguette with brie, salami and radishes and washed down with a bottle of Orangina.

    Like

    Reply
  2. lisabuiecollard

    While traveling by rail or metro, I found Paul’s, in the tube/train stations to have very good and quick Jambon-beurre sandwiches. It’s kinda like a Starbucks as in being in a lot of different stations, as it’s a chain, but for a chain, it was very good, and not too pricy. Good coffee also! Too many places to sit outside and eat anything! There is always somewhere new to discover en France!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Celine Jeanjean

    Oh my! How did I miss this post last time I popped by your blog? This is awesome, you are basically blogging about all my favourite things to eat and drink (my favourite thing to do!) – un bon Jambon-Beurre being one of them. When made with a good baguette, it’s one of those simple pleasures of life.

    Can I recommend a restaurant whilst you’re in Paris? It actually serves food from the South, rather than parisien food, but there’s a particular dish they do which is DIVINE. And so simple. Steak, with aligot (mash made with tons and tons of cheese and some garlic, so that it’s this gooey, stringy deliciousness that is poured out of the copper pan it’s made in. If you google image it you’ll see what I mean).
    The restaurant is called La Petite Perigourdine, in the 5eme arrondissement (which is also lovely to walk around in). It’s on trip advisor.

    Oh and also la Rue Mouffetard is a really awesome little street stuffed with amazing food shops.

    Haha, I’m going to stop now before I start trying to go back to Paris vicariously through you 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Chouette! Oh, I will put this one on the “list” for sure. I love suggestions. It’s absolutely the best way to find the “gems” and avoid “les pieges à touristes” ! Merci 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Celine Jeanjean

        De rien!! 🙂 if you go you must tell me what you thought of the aligot (and go with an empty stomach because although delicious it is possibly the heaviest meal ever!)

        Like

        Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

