La vie est belle !

H is for Pierre Hermé

 

 

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 H is for ” Pierre Hermé ” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

"Macarons by Pierre Hermé" by Arnold Gatilao is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Macarons by Pierre Hermé” by Arnold Gatilao is licensed under CC BY 2.0

 

I admit it. I have a weakness for sweets. So it makes sense that I want to try the most iconic French sweet, the macaron, in Paris. Yes, it’s kind of cliché, but Pierre Hermé makes one of the most well-known examples of these sweets, (les douceurs toxiques or “toxic pleasures” a descriptive phrase that I learned from one of my correspondents 🙂 ) Perhaps it is because I love to bake at home that I find a particular delight in seeing (and of course tasting) the work of a master chef pâtissier. (pastry chef) As you can see at his website, the pâtisseries (pastry shops) of  M. Hermé are absolutely stunning in their beauty.

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

There are several locations in Paris, but I think the one in the 4th arrondissement, at 18 Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, will be closest to where we will stay. Hopefully not TOO close! It would be a shame to have to go more than once…oh wait, no it wouldn’t!

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

For the attack on the senses. I imagine that when one walks into a shop like this, there is a sensual overload: aromas, colors, shapes, tastes, textures…all at once. It seems to me that it will be a great experience, and I am sure that there will be something there for us, something with un goût extraordinaire. (An extraordinary flavor), something that we can’t find here in the US. That is one of the reasons we travel, n’est-ce pas? To experience that which is different, that which is particular to a specific place, or which originated there. And let’s face it, the French are famous for their beautiful pastries. Of course we can get fine pastries here, even macarons, but M. Hermé and all the famous patissiers who came before him set the standard.  Donc, je crois que ça vaut le détour (it’s worth going out of the way) to visit one of his shops and walk away with a delicious memory.

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ?

Do you have a sweet tooth? Do you have a favorite douceur toxique? A favorite patisserie in Paris, or somewhere else in France?

Alors à demain, chers lecteurs ! See you tomorrow!

12 Responses to “H is for Pierre Hermé”

  1. cfjeanjean

    I LOVE macarons! I’m so pleased you came by to visit so I could discover your blog! I’m French but I live in Hong Kong, very far from home! So it’s going to be lovely to hear all about your travels!

    By the way, reading your bio, that’s amazing that you fly planes! You must have seen so many countries.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      I do love my job, it’s a ton of fun, but to be honest, I fly those “small” jets that everyone complains about, (70 seats) and I only fly in the US and Canada. Most people don’t realize that flight crews mainly see airports and hotels, which sadly don’t change much from city to city…

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sammy D.

    The window displays of sweets in Paris are drop dead gorgeous – I took many photos (in lieu of gaining weight)! So are the window displays of shoes! And shopping bags! Oh heck, you’ll love ’em all.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Good for you taking photos instead of kilos…I doubt I have your strength of will, therefore I must do even more walking! And…did you say “shoes”?? J’adore les chaussures 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Sammy D.

        The miles of walking, if you’re physically able and have the time, is definitely the way to see “old” Paris because so much happens on the streets, bridges and “getting to” part of the day. In comfortable chaussures, naturelllement! Sometimes we never “got to” because the “getting to” magical wonders slowed us down.

        Like

        Reply
        • jetgirlcos

          Absolument ! J’adore marcher. I definitely intend to do tons and tons of walking. I will have my trusty pedometer so I can find out just how much. When I spent a day in Paris last summer, my friend and I walked about 11 miles on a 10 hour whirlwind tour. That is also counting the airport walking 🙂 I think my husband and I did over 20 in Dublin alone when we went there. The best part is that when you’re in an interesting place, you don’t care or notice how far it is!

          Like

        • Sammy D.

          Sounds like you are ready for the street treats – glad you are able to put in those kind of miles. I didn’t realize you’ve already been to Paris – here I’ve been blabbering on about things you’ve already experienced!

          Like

        • jetgirlcos

          Oh, no, not really, I love hearing your stories. I was seriously there for only *one day*! One of my friends and I went there on a lark last summer, just long enough to walk rather quickly past a lot of interesting things and eat dinner, then come back home. Crazy girls, n’est-ce pas? 🙂

          Like

        • Sammy D.

          From the US? For one day? Are you a pilot for one of the big airlines? Live in denver? Really? I’m in Arvada. What are the odds?

          Like

        • jetgirlcos

          Yep, from the US 🙂 Je suis folle, non? I work for a “smaller” airline, but we do have certain “perks” from time to time 🙂

          Like

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

