La vie est belle !

E is for la Tour Eiffel

 

 

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 E is for “La Tour Eiffel 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?
Hmmm…well I think I’ll partially answer this with a picture. But in case there is still anyone in the known universe who doesn’t know, it’s a massive iron structure in the city of Paris, designed by Gustave Eiffel for l’Exposition de Paris 1889. It has become an icon, representing all things Parisian to the rest of the world. I have no statistics or anything to back me up on this, but I imagine it is one of the most recognized structures in the world. It’s one of those things that is so famous that only the mere suggestion of its shape will cause most people to recognize it. No challenge at all in the board game “Pictionary.” One has only to draw an upside down sort-of-Y-shape with lines resembling ironwork supports on it, and everyone will guess right away. Kind of like the shape of the state of Texas?

pictionary

 

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

La Tour Eiffel is located on the Northwest side of le parc du Champs de Mars along the Seine River in Paris’ 7th arondissement. I don’t think it’s too hard to find, due to its 389 meters of massive tallness!

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

Well, I guess for all the obvious reasons…”because it is there”, because I want to climb all 704 steps available to climb, because I want to see the view from the top, because I want to see all the pictures my husband will take of and from the tower, because I want to kiss his cute little face at the top of it, because I want to be a dorky tourist and have him take my picture in front of it with a red umbrella like every other dorky tourist in the world, because I want to see it all lit up at night…you  get the idea 🙂

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ? 

What “Eiffel Tower” moments do you have? Did you climb the stairs or take the lift?

My one day in Paris, I took this picture but didn't have time to climb the tower on this day.

My one day in Paris, I took this picture but didn’t have time to climb the tower on this day.

Alors à demain, chers lecteurs ! See you tomorrow!

9 Responses to “E is for la Tour Eiffel”

  1. Archana (@yenforblue)

    We went up by the lift and the view was stupendous. It was in summer and the Sun was just setting and I can still remember Paris from there. I would like to climb up in my next visit whenver that is… if my knees allow me to! Great post.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Elizabeth Hein

    I love the light show on the Tour at night. if you stand near the Peace memorial, you can get a great view of the lights as they change.

    Like

    Reply
  3. mizzdublin

    I’ve been up it twice – the first was on a school trip and the second was a “romantic day trip”. I got the lift up both times but took the stairs when going down. WARNING: DON’T do this if you have vertigo…I forgot I did and went into panic mode halfway down when I looked through the metal grills and saw the Seine beneath me… 🙂 You should go up it at night, I still haven’t done that, then you will get to see the real City of Lights 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Sammy D.

    We did not take time to go up, but views of the Tower from around the city are as good as you’d expect. The lights at night shimmer – our hotel was nearby and I never got tired of the magic as they changed colors. I must say though, the many bridges across the Seine were as compelling – i can’t explain it, but crossing them again and again, we found different experiences each time because we crossed them slowly and let life happen around us. The bridge behind Notre Dame gives a great view of the cathedral’s buttresses, and a street jazz band entertained one of the days we crossed there. You can’t go wrong anywhere in Paris!

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

