La vie est belle !

D is for Dijon

 

 

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 D is for “Dijon” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Dijon is the capital of the Côte-d’or département of France, and of the région Bourgogne.  Bourgogne is one of the régions that I have chosen for part of our trip. I chose it for many reasons, one of which was my desire to see this city. It has been named a Ville d’art et d’histoire ( town of art and history), and from perusing web-sites and books I think we’ll see many varied types of architecture, experience some great wine and gastronomic delights, and learn some history!

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

Dijon is located in Eastern France in the Burgundy region.

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

La région Bourgogne is one of the regions I have decided to visit on this trip because of its rich history, architecture, le beau paysage (beautiful countryside)…there are several of les plus beaux villages de France in this region as well as the famous wines. In Dijon, I hope to follow Le Parcours de la Choutte. From what I can tell, it seems a bit like the Freedom Trail in Boston, a tour of the city marked for following au pied (on foot), which is my favorite way to explore a city! In this city we will visit le Musée de Beaux-Arts  at the Palais des Ducs de Bourgogne, and I think there are many many other things to see there. This may well be the town in which we buy our pneu français (French tire) because I do plan to rent a car while we are here…on verra ! (We’ll see!) Also, I understand that there is a certain condiment which bears the name of this town. I wonder if we will find some exemples authentiques? (Authentic examples?)

 

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ?

Have you visited Dijon? Did you visit museums? Restaurants? Bistros? Did you follow the owls?  What was your favorite thing to do or see there? Maybe I have readers who even live near here…what is your favorite “insider” tip that you’d share with this traveler?

9 Responses to “D is for Dijon”

  1. Sammy D.

    Wouldn’t that be fantastique to find some blogger nearby? I haven’t been to Dijon, but I do like le moutard. I have to say, I had no idea before my visit to only a very small portion of France, how LARGE a country it is. We in the US sometimes can’t grasp the scale of Europe – countries can be a mere hour trainride away, but they can also be far more vast than I imagined, like France

    I have a funny mustard story. Maybe someday I’ll get around to writing it down!

    Your advance study and preparation is impressive. And thanks for the map; that was a good idea.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks! Yeah, I’m sort of an obsessive planner sometimes…it’s a blessing and a curse. Hope to hear your mustard story one day!

      Like

      Reply
  2. mizzdublin

    Hey, great post! I spent my erasmus in Dijon and loved it! will always hold a special place in my heart. fantastic memories of all those local delicacies like escargots, boeuf bourgignon, vin de Beaune, moutarde and cassis (kir de cassis has since become my signature drink!). You should have a coffee at the Place de la Republique (hopefully they’ll have the fountains turned on). There’s also a restaurant near the mini Arc de Triomph (think it’s called la Papeterie or la Librairie but it basically looks like a restaurant in a library with bookshelves all around…always wanted to eat there but never got round it it!) Enjoy!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. wawoman

    Dijon is just a two-and-a-half hour drive from where I live now but I still haven’t made it there… This might be just the motivation I need! It sounds so wonderful… Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

