La vie est belle !

C is for Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris

My theme – “26 Things I’d Like To See During Our Trip To France”

 

 C is for “Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris” 

What is this? Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

At the risk of sounding silly, I’ll answer this question anyway. It’s a historic Roman Catholic Cathedral in Paris, and a very famous example of French Gothic Architecture. No, I really haven’t studied architecture, but I loved Ken Follett’s novel, The Pillars of the Earth, which was full of the author’s research on Cathedral building in a wonderful period novel.

Ok, this is one of those “Bien sûr” (of course) moments. Yes, we will spend a week in Paris, so this one is a no-brainer. I’ve only ever seen Paris once in my life, and only for about 9 or so hours, but I saw l’extérieur (the outside) of this Cathédrale.  It was breathtaking (except I was there in June, on a fine sunny day, and the queue was about a quarter-mile long. That part wasn’t so breathtaking) But when I go there with my husband and we will have a whole week to explore the city, of course we will wait in whatever line we find.

Taken when I was lucky enough to have a 9-hr guided tour of Paris one day last summer.

Taken when I was lucky enough to have a 9-hr guided tour of Paris one day last summer.

 

Where is it? Où est-ce?  

It’s located on the East side of the Île de la Cité in the fourth arrondissement of Paris.

 

Why do I want to go there? Pourquoi est-ce que je veux y aller ?

Well…because one just has to go there. It’s a wealth of history and art. I really hope that my husband and I will be lucky enough to hear the organ. On the website I read that a different organist performs on the famous organ each Saturday. (Les Auditions d’orgue, tous les samedis à 20h, Entrée libre – Hear the organ every Saturday at 8pm, entry is free.” I think that just has to be on the list.

And you, dear A to Z-ers?  Et vous ? 

Have you taken a tour of the Notre Dame Cathedral? Did you attend a concert there? What was your favorite/least favorite part of the experience?

Alors à demain, chers lecteurs ! See you tomorrow!

 

Je Cherche plus de blogs intéressants maintenant  🙂

16 Responses to “C is for Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris”

  1. MELewis

    ‘C’ could also be for ‘cemeteries’. I’m not much of a one for tours but I remember enjoying wandering around the Montmartre and Père Lachaise cemeteries. You can stumble upon so many famous names, peacefully sleeping… Enjoy your trip to France!

    Like

    Reply
  2. halleygentil

    This is one of my favorite places to visit in Paris! What an impressive sight to behold. I especially love the stained glass windows in Notre Dame. You can also ascend the bell towers if you’re not afraid of heights!

    Like

    Reply
  3. lisabuiecollard

    I spent hours inside once, just listening and resting after walking around and seeing what I could on my own. Notre Dame is very worth seeing, experiencing. Hopefully the line won’t be too long this time! I’m guessing perhaps you’ll be using the Louvre for L?

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks for visiting! A to Z is a big challenge for me, but even more so will be if I actually manage to visit or experience the 26 things!

      Like

      Reply
  4. LindaGHill

    I loved Pillars of the Earth! And I’d love to go back to see Notre Dame again. It’s been so long, I don’t actually remember whether or not I went in. 😛

    Like

    Reply
  5. gapark

    Have been to Paris many years ago and did tour the Cathedral. Impressive, of course! Would like to return someday so we can see more of the countryside this go-’round. How exciting for you–sounds like you will be extremely well-prepared! Gail

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

