La vie est belle !

The Big Theme Reveal ! – A to Z April Challenge

This is it! The first preview of my plan for the April A to Z Challenge. I joined this “hop within a hop” for a few reasons:

First of all, I need as much accountability as I can get for this challenge…it’s a lot for a new blogger like me!
Secondly, it’s a great way to organize my thoughts into a coherent “theme” and

Last but certainly not least, I get to take part in a bigger something, and to see the creativity of all these other bloggers, different themes, different and interesting thoughts, so many talented writers!

I have been visiting the blogs of the other A to Z participants over the last few weeks, sometimes just reading, sometimes commenting, sometimes following.  I am amazed at the variety of bloggers out there. Lots of people sharing the things which are important to them. Great writers, photographers, artists…I think this “Mega-blog-hop” will be a great way to discover some of them with whom I have things in common. That really is one thing that blogging is about for me, finding “kindred spirits.”  I find a lot of blogs done by self-proclaimed introverts, and I think when I read these, “Hey, isn’t it wonderful that there is finally a way for a shy person to be bold in a non-threatening way?”  People who know me probably won’t buy this, but I am and have been shy since I was a child. I’m a bit bolder now after a few more than 40 years of life and 22 years of marriage, but, as I told my husband last week, I still feel invisible unless he is with me. For instance, if I’m by myself in a public place, I’m not sure why, but I regularly get hit with baby strollers, shopping carts, backpacks, etc, and the people doing it never even realize that there was a flesh-and-blood person in their way! However, this doesn’t happen so much when I’m with him. Anyway, I really need to get to the point: MY THEME !

So here it is…..TA-DA !

26  Things I Wish To See On My Trip to France !

Yes, I intend to find 26 things, one for each letter of the alphabet, that I want to see when my husband and I visit France later this year. We have chosen the areas we’ll stay in, so now I want to narrow it down further and choose some specific sights or activities in those areas. I may also choose some general “experiences.” The best thing is, this will also give me a set of things to write about when we return!  So I can then make a post about each of these things, whether or not we really saw/experienced each one, and whether or not it lived up to our expectations. C’est chouette, non? And I hope that perhaps some of my fellow A to Z bloggers might tell me about their own experiences with each one, or maybe have some advice for us! I have noticed that there are a lot of travel blogs participating, so I really hope to connect with some fellow travelers as I do my “blog-hopping.”  Of course, I have so many other interests, I expect I will find many many great blogs to follow during the course of the challenge. For a warm-up, here are just 3 of the blogs I’ve visited so far which have struck a chord with me:

Notes in a Book – I love all things paper and pen, and this blogger not only uses and reviews these tools, but has tons of great tips to help get yourself organized! I love this because I can be a bit scattered at times. So I hope to learn some things at this blog!

Jo on Food, Travels and a Scent of Chocolate – I really enjoy the stories and recipes that I found here! 

Writing on Writing: Amloki blogs – Here you will find the blogger who inspired me to join the A to Z challenge! Visit her blog, revel in her writing. 

Et…C’est tout pour aujourd’hui. (That’s all for today) And I think it’s way more than too much 🙂  Congrats if you’ve actually made it to the end of this post! I am just very excited to embark on this challenge! À bientôt ! (see you soon!)

23 Responses to “The Big Theme Reveal ! – A to Z April Challenge”

  1. Sammy D.

    Oooh La La another Francophile who is lucky enough to be going there later this year. I’m envious, and can’t wait to read your April posts. Have been to France once and long to go back to so many wonderful places. I’m a new blogger, too. Looking forward to the challenge of A to Z and the relief once I can say “I did that” (and I can’t remember how to say that in French!)

    Sammy at http://www.bemuzin.com

    Like

    Reply
  2. anntogether.com

    For an invisible woman, your voice comes through in solid form! I wish you luck on your challenge and with your blog. It appears you’re enjoying writing – that’s wonderful. Words can put flesh on our spirits.
    AnnMarie
    new blogger, wouldn’t mind borrowing Harry’s invisibility cloak once in awhile
    ps Enjoy your trip, you lucky lady!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Patricia Lynne (@plynne_writes)

    This is a great theme. My dad’s side came from France, so one day I’d love to go there.

    One thing I love about blogging is I am shy and it’s definitely an easy way for me to talk to people I don’t know and be bolder. I can admit things a lot easier on my blog than if I was talking face to face.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Merci de lire ma “révélation du thème” 🙂 Moi aussi, j’ai hâte d’y aller. “A to Z” will just scratch the surface I think!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Sophie Duncan

    Sounds like you’re going to have a really well-planned itinerary for your trip by the time April is finished 🙂 Good Luck with your investigations into France and I hope you find everything you are looking for to fill your trip 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. natalie

    What a great theme! I love all things French and “French” is even my maiden name! My Russian father escaped the Revolution and lived in France for a few years so when he arrived in New York, he had a French accent, so everyone called him “Frenchy”. He changed his name to Allan French and later, Natalie French was born. I look forward to reading your blog about your summer travels to France–you lucky one!

    Like

    Reply
  6. gapark

    Are you a natural French speaker or are you learning for your upcoming trip? We visited France many years ago when we were military stationed in Germany. I regret that we didn’t visit Monet’s Garden and hope to get back there. We toured the Loire valley and saw all the chateaux and, of course, Paris, Normandy, all the regular stops. How long will you be there? My blog theme for the A-Z is family history
    Gail at Making Life An Art

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Oh, I’m just a student of French. I only started learning 2 years ago (pretty much for this trip). Sounds like you had a great European experience 🙂 We’ll be in France for 4 weeks, really looking forward to it! Thanks for visiting, and I’ll be sure to check out your site!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Michelle Wallace

    In the late 80’s, I had the privilege of visiting Paris… it remains my favourite city of all time… 🙂
    Your theme sounds great! Plus you speak the language…
    I’ve always had a thing for French. When I was in my early 20’s, I purchased a pocket-sized English/French dictionary. But nothing came of it. *sighs*

    My theme is “If Books Could Speak, What Would They Say” and is guaranteed to be LOTS OF FUN! It is interactive, and bloggers are invited to play along!
    See you around on the A to Z circuit!
    Writer In Transit

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Ooh! I love your theme! Count me in as a reader for sure! Thanks for visiting. I’ve only been to Paris once so far, and only for one day, but I’m pretty sure it’s my favorite city too 🙂 Four more days ’til April!

      Like

      Reply
  8. anneyoungau

    I am new to the A to Z challenge and am following the bloggers who signed up just after me. I really look forward to reading your posts – I have loved visiting France and I think it sounds a great way to preapre for the journey.

    best wishes
    Anne from Ballarat, Australia
    where it is already April 1 😉
    http://ayfamilyhistory.blogspot.com.au

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      thanks so much for the follow! I did visit your Family Blog and will follow via email…(sorry I don’t have a G+ profile) Looking forward to reading the rest of your A to Z. I think this should be fun! I’m new to A to Z and to blogging in general!

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

