La vie est belle !

Laissez les bons temps rouler !

My first attempt at a King Cake !

My first attempt at a King Cake !

Il y a 17 ans je suis allée à la Nouvelle-Orléans, mais pas pour le Mardi Gras.

Aujourd’hui, c’était le Mardi Gras mais mon cours de français l’a célébré hier ! Nous avons importé un peu de la Nouvelle-Orléans ici au Colorado. Pour moi, ce n’est pas une partie de mes traditions. Mardi Gras est le jour du festin avant le carême, traditionnellement un temps de jeuner. Cette année, dans mon cours de français hier, nous avons eu une petite célébration. Moi, j’ai fait le gâteau…c’est un gâteau spécial pour le Mardi Gras. Il y a un homme dans notre cours qui vient de la Nouvelle-Orléans. C’est lui qui m’a demandé de le faire. C’est comme un pain avec de la cannelle et du sucre dedans. À l’extérieur, il y a du glaçage avec des sucres colorés en or, en verte et en violet. Ce sont les couleurs de Mardi Gras. L’homme dans notre groupe nous a dit qu’ils signifient la prospérité, le printemps et la royauté. En fait, il s’est déguisé comme Orphée, avec une cape en or et un masque ! De plus, on doit cacher un petit bébé dans le gâteau. La personne qui reçoit le morceaux avec le bébé sera le roi et il doit organiser la fête pour l’année prochaine ! Comme cette activité est arrivée dans mon cours de français, je vous raconte en français 🙂  J’ai trouvé une bonne recette sur l’internet, sur le page de la Chaîne d’Histoire. De plus, il y a quelques vidéos sur l’histoire et des traditions de Mardi Gras. C’est chouette ! J’ai appris beaucoup !

17 years ago, I went to New Orleans, but not for Mardi Gras. Today was Mardi Gras, but my French class celebrated it yesterday! We brought a little bit of New Orleans right here to Colorado. For me, it isn’t a part of my traditions. Mardi Gras – “Fat Tuesday”, the day of traditional feast before the season of Lent, which is traditionally a season of fasting. But this year, in my French class yesterday, we had a little celebration.  I made the cake…it’s a special cake for Mardi Gras. There is a man in our class who is from New Orleans, and he asked me to make it. It’s more of a bread than a cake, with cinnamon-sugar filling. (like a big cinnamon roll!)  On top, there is frosting with colored sugars in gold, green and purple. Those are the colors of Mardi Gras. The man in my class told us they signify prosperity, springtime, and royalty. In addition to that, you have to hide a small trinket, usually a small plastic baby, inside the cake. Whoever gets the baby in their piece is the king, and they must host the next year’s party! Since this activity took place during my French class, I am telling you about it in French 🙂  I found a good recipe on the internet, on the History Channel page. There are also several videos there about the history of Mardi Gras. It’s awesome!  I learned a lot! 

4 Responses to “Laissez les bons temps rouler !”

  1. Silvia Writes

    This got my attention right away — first with French, which I love, though speak very little, then mention of the Mardi Gras, fun, fun, fun. Have never been to NO for the Mardi Gras, so thanks for sharing this. Sounds awesome.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks for visiting! I can’t imagine how crazy New Orleans must be for Mardi Gras, but our little class had fun in our own corner of the world 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Josephine Wake

    Sounds fun jetgirl. Traditionally in England we make crêpes (we call them pancakes) for Shrove Tuesday and in some areas they have races with women tossing them in a pan as they run. I made us some crêpes, but I didn’t run anywhere with them.

    Very brave of you writing in French, mine is too rusty these days and I can only manage the odd written comment although I can still speak it somewhat.

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I wish you lots of luck in the A to Z Challenge, this is my fourth year and my second year as a minion – this year for Tina at Life is Good.

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks for stopping by, and for the luck with A to Z 🙂 I think I’m going to need it! I am looking forward to the challenge!

      Like

      Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

