La vie est belle !

A Vapor – Trifecta week 112

This is my last-minute entry for the Trifecta challenge – I hope I’ve made it in time! It’s been a long time since I have played around with poetic meter…I barely remember what it is, so I’ve probably mis-remembered how to do it! But I figured “Why not?” Normally I prefer non-rhyming verse, but again, it doesn’t hurt to try things out from time to time.

The Trifecta challenge this week was this:

Now onto this week’s Trifecta prompt. We’re back to one word, its third definition and the 33-333 word limit.

• Your response must be between 33 and 333 words. • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post. • The word itself needs to be included in your response. • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.

3funk

noun

Definition of FUNK

1 a :  a state of paralyzing fear
:  a depressed state of mind
2:  one that funks :  coward
3:  slump 1 <an economic funk> <the team went into a funk>

And my response is this:

A Vapor

My feet fall slower on the frozen ground
In the echo of that loud “ADIEU”;
This funk I’m in is muffling the sound
Of springtime songs that rise with ardent hues.

The snowdrops through the loamy soil are crowned
The queens and kings of joy that grows anew.
Alas, within my heart this pain surrounds
A bud that once I cherished; now I rue.

I weep. I fear his hatred so profound
Will fail him in the world that will ensue,
But yet in silence hope does still abound
Amidst the angels singing praise so true.

6 Responses to “A Vapor – Trifecta week 112”

  1. Juno

    What a beautiful and sincere poem!
    I just would have used PAIN instead of HATRED
    yours poetically

    Like

    Reply
    • jetgirlcos

      Thanks for the comment. Yes, maybe you’re right…because after all, pain is at the root of these sorts of things. Maybe, to keep with my poor attempt at meter, and to avoid a repeated word, I could use “anguish” and it would mean the same thing, but even communicate a bit deeper emotion. What do you think?

      Like

      Reply
      • Juno

        Anguish is not bad and certainly better than hatred, but I think I’ve found the right word, a word that is bot english and french, and the english meaning in this case would be very fair: CHAGRIN. Thanks for you blog that has inspired me.
        Yours poetically

        Like

        Reply
        • jetgirlcos

          Vous êtes français alors?? Votre anglais me semble très bon. Hmmm…”chagrin”? good word, but not quite what I was going for. According to Merriam-Webster, in English, it is ” disquietude or distress of mind caused by humiliation, disappointment, or failure” and for this little verse I don’t see that. I think “anguish” is appropriate here. La définition française de ce mot marche ici…”souffrance, peine, tristesse.” C’est un cas où le mot a des nuances différentes dans les deux langues, je crois. Mais c’est seulement un petit poème sans grande importance. Un de ces jours j’oserai publier un poème en français. Je suis contente que vous aimiez mon petit blog. Merci de le lire.

          Like

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

