La vie est belle !

Sláinte !

If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills? – The Daily Prompt

Cliffs of Moher

Cliffs of Moher

Bien sûr si vous suivez mon blog, vous savez que j’adore la langue française. Donc, si Eiffel alteredje parlais le français couramment quand je me lève demain matin, ça serait parfait!  Actuellement, j’ai un niveau “intermédiaire” en français.  Je crois que je peux me débrouiller en France, mais je suis loin d’être “couramment.”

Of course if you follow my blog you know that I love the French language. Therefore if I spoke fluent French when I wake up tomorrow, that would be perfect! Currently I have an intermediate level in French. I think I can manage in France, but I am far from being “fluent.”

But, this prompt said to specifically consider a language I do not speak. I don’t think that includes one that I speak a little bit. So I choose Irish Gaelic, because why not?  I have an Irish maiden name! When my husband and I went to Ireland a couple years ago, we came back with only one word: “Sláinte!” which is how they say “cheers” in Ireland when making a toast. I don’t suppose it’s a very practical skill, as there really aren’t that many speakers, but it’s still a pretty neat idea. And as I doubt I’ll ever really take the necessary time to learn it (it seems really really complicated!), it’s a good candidate for the topic.

So If I woke up speaking Irish Gaelic fluently? Well, since we’re delving into the realm of “it’s not possible”, I’m going to say that I would take my husband, hop a plane to Ireland, and then get on a boat to the Aran Islands, and then find some people who would be willing to tell me a lot of stories (preferably some kind older people who have a lot of them), teach me the art of Aran knitting, and Irish flute playing. And then, I think…we would live happily ever after by the ocean. I’m sure my husband would agree…but if not…then he has to write his own story! 🙂

3 Responses to “Sláinte !”

  1. Sara (Turning Pages: Of Books and Life)

    Oui oui! I too am “intermediate” in french, and I love your idea of Irish gaelic! My husband and I also went to Ireland a few years ago and the gaelic was incredible to hear – I can’t imagine learning to speak it. But it is such a fantastically beautiful country, wouldn’t it be fabulous to live there by the ocean? 🙂

    Like

    Reply

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

