La vie est belle !

“Zero to Hero” – A challenge for 2014

Hello 2014 ! I’m a little late to the “Zero to Hero” party, but I hope I can catch up. This is completely new to me, so I think I’ll just begin by answering the questions in the Challenge (day 1) I know…absolutely nothing about WordPress.com yet, so if anyone happens to read this, please be patient as I learn!

Why are you blogging, rather than keeping a personal journal?

So…I’m not exactly sure why have a blog rather than just a personal journal. I’ve often wanted to keep a personal journal but never really had the will to “stick to it.” Blogging? Well, I never really thought about it too much until I saw this “Zero to Hero” challenge whilst “surfing.” I read blogs. In fact, I read lots of blogs. I subscribe to blogs. I sometimes comment on blogs. But I never really considered writing one myself. But as it’s the beginning of a new year, and there is a “challenge” afoot…well, pourquoi pas ? I love a good challenge!

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

What topics do I think I’ll write about? Well, I have a few passions in life right now. My husband of 21 1/2 years, my church, playing my flute, a renewed interest in writing, cooking…and then…there’s the “French thing” as my husband calls it. It’s part of my personality to become absolutely obsessed with new things I take up. It’s both a fault and a quality, I think. In any case, I decided a couple of years ago that 2014 will be “The Year We Went to France.” And in the interest of getting the most out of this adventure, I decided to learn a bit of the French language. And now, two years after beginning this endeavor, I think I’ll be able to manage ok in France when we go there. So I think a large part of the blog will be dedicated to my journey to learn this beautiful language, and the planning, execution, and details of our upcoming trip to this fascinating country.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

I honestly don’t know if anyone will actually read any of my posts, and in that sense perhaps it won’t be anything more than a rather elaborate digital “personal journal.” That doesn’t bother me. However, if I could inspire someone by my words, or help someone by writing about how I am accomplishing certain goals, or if there is just someone else out there who appreciates the same things I do and wants to “connect,” I would definitely welcome the opportunity to find a few “kindred spirits” in the world. People who love the French language/culture, people who love poetry and travel, other musicians…

If you blog successfully throughout 2014, what would you hope to have accomplished?

If I blog successfully throughout 2014, I hope to have a really nice record of the year, the things which were important to me, our trip, and with any luck I’ll have written a few nice things, and maybe made contact with some lovely people, even, (why not dream?) a couple of my blogger-heros?

So, what do you think? - Qu'en pensez-vous ?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

